SEVEN NORTH by Eyal Shani: the “King of Cauliflower” // FOOD

Seven North Eyal Shani, Photo: Sandy Aaron

Seven North is the second culinary offering in Vienna from celebrated Israeli chef Eyal Shani, who is known as the “King of Cauliflower” because of his excellent way of preparing the versatile vegetable.

Seven North Vienna

Seven North brings together a comprehensive palette of colourful, aromatic ingredients with a dynamic, almost chaotic atmosphere that provides the perfect setting for guests to enjoy simple, fresh food,

says Eyal.

While we were having to get along by ourselves or with our families, Seven North was sharing simple and delicious recipes on Instagram, with “Eggplant lines”, tahini sauce, “Melting Spinach Steams” and espresso Martinis aiming to bring some of this dynamic, somewhat chaotic atmosphere into kitchens around the world.


“King of cauliflower” and well-known chef Eyal Shani about his life during and after lock down and about the good in the bad.

Interview: Nina Prehofer

Why was it natural for you to “reveal” your recipes on Instagram?

I’m not putting my recipes on Instagram, I’m not shooting my food, technically I’m shooting my food, however I’m showing the meaning, the energy of the food. I mean I’m not shooting the food to show the food.

I’m shooting the thought, I’m shooting the feeling, I’m shooting my senses that I’m trying to translate them, to convert them in to something real that at the end is food but it’s not just that.

Do you think the people appreciate even more to eat your creations at your places after this time of “waiver”?

I cut the world into two parts: the part before the corona and the atmosphere after the corona. There was a big noise in the world before the corona appeared. Speed was so high and under that speed, most of the things cannot exist.

Seven North Vienna

Each one of us found the point of the focus that you cannot find it outside. The new feeling inside changed the outlook on the outside which make people appreciate the thoughts behind creations.

How did the lock down affect your team spirit?

I think that the lock down sent everybody to meet themselves, there are very special meetings that are happening in this situation. Each one of them found a completely different human and soul that waited for so long for this meeting.

Seven North Vienna

Then when we opened we met again all the people and I felt something deeper within, I felt something juicer with them, I felt that they are listening and not to the not ending noise that surrounds them, but they are listening to a small pulse of the heart that they never heard before.

The result is that we are gathering stronger and the food we make and the energy in the restaurants is much better than ever.

How did this feel for you not to be able to do your work?

I did work; I did not stop doing my work, my work has converted into other terms. I spent a lot of time talking to my people, to try to understand the movement of the world, to try to understand the future, the character of the food that will be in the future.

When there is big and drastic movements in the pace of the world happening like this you work all the time.

Can you draw something positive out of the lock down seeing from a professional point of view?

I changed the speed and the energy.

Instead of putting it outside to follow the traffic I converted it into a deep inner energy and from that point of view I could see everything clearer and cook better.

Were you able to use the time to develop something new for instance new dishes? If yes, what was the output?

That is a good question. I pick my brain to find the future food of the world. Three months I spent on my own thinking about it. Without understanding nothing without seeing any vision and then one day, I understood everything. Before the corona, we found the food of the future. Food is not just food it’s the environment, the people that are creating it, the relationships between the people in our team, the way of working, the way of managing a business, our clients happiness, the matter of paying attention, of respecting people and respecting the food.

Seven North Vienna

In the way, that we create our food and think about food that religion was found before the corona time and now we have to make very small changes and frame it into the future.

What are your feelings for the next few months?

The world has changed. It will be much more intimate. I think that all the frames that the world had are now melted, so we need to build a new frame. People will much more together, they will not try to follow the outer noises and the high speed they will try to find themselves.

Eyal Shani
Eyal Shani, Photo: Ariel Efron

One of the best ways to find themselves is to find the food that will fit in this kind of life. 

Eyal Shani is a renowned chef famous for his southern mediterranean culinary influences. The Seven North in Viennas Max Brown Hotel joins Shani’s notable list of eateries. Recently, the Israeli celebrity chef opened the HaSalon in New York’s Hell’s Kitchen. These are joined by the North Abraxas, Port Said, Romano and HaSalon in Tel Aviv and the Miznon, which can be found in Paris, downtown Vienna, as well as Melbourne’s central Hardware Lane and New York-Chelsea Market.

Photos: Seven North


SEVEN NORTH by Eyal Shani
Schottenfeldgasse 74
1070 Vienna, Austria
online >>

SEVEN NORTH by Eyal Shani: the “King of Cauliflower” // FOOD

Seven North ,(c)Sandy Aaron

Das Seven North im 7. Bezirk ist bereits das zweite Kulinarikprojekt in Wien des renommierten israelischen Starkochs Eyal Shani, der als „King of Cauliflower“ bezeichnet wird, dank der tollen Zubereitung desselbigen.

Seven North Vienna

Das Seven North vereint eine umfangreiche Palette an farbenprächtigen, aromatischen Zutaten mit einer dynamischen, beinahe chaotischen Atmosphäre, in der die Gäste über frisches, einfaches Essen zueinander finden,

sagt Eyal.

Während wir zu Hause alleine oder mit unserer Familie klarkommen mussten, teilte das Seven North einfache wie schmackhafte Rezepte auf Instagram. Es gab „Eggplant lines“, „Tahini sauce“, „Melting Spinach Steams“ und „Espresso Martini“, mit denen etwas von der dynamischen, leicht chaotischen Atmosphäre in die eigene Küche gekommen ist.


Der „King of cauliflower“ genannte und bekannte Koch Eyal Shani über sein Leben während und nach dem Lock down, über das Gute, dass man auch in weniger schönen Situationen finden kann und wie man im Essen sich selbst findet.

Interview: Nina Prehofer

Warum war es für Sie selbstverständlich, Ihre Rezepte auf Instagram zu „enthüllen“?

Ich stelle meine Rezepte nicht auf Instagram, ich fotografiere nicht mein Essen, technisch ja, aber ich zeige damit die Bedeutung, die Energie des Essens. Ich meine, ich fotografiere nicht das Essen, um es zu zeigen.

Ich fotografiere den Gedanken, ich fotografiere das Gefühl, ich fotografiere meine Sinne, die ich versuche zu übersetzen, sie in etwas Reales umzuwandeln, das am Ende Essen ist, aber eben so viel mehr.

Denken Sie, dass die Menschen es nach dieser Zeit des „Verzichts“ noch mehr schätzen, Ihre Kreationen in Ihren Restaurants zu essen?

Ich habe die Welt in zwei Teile geteilt: den Teil vor Corona und die Atmosphäre nach Corona. Es gab einen großen „Lärm“ auf der Welt, bevor Corona erschien. Die Geschwindigkeit war so hoch und unter dieser Geschwindigkeit können die meisten Dinge nicht existieren.

Seven North Vienna

Jeder von uns hat einen neuen Fokus in sich gefunden, den man draußen nicht finden kann. Das neue Gefühl im Inneren veränderte die Sichtweise nach außen und ließ die Menschen die Gedanken hinter den Kreationen schätzen.

Wie hat sich der Lock down auf den Teamgeist ausgewirkt?

Ich denke, dass der Lock down alle dazu gebracht hat, sich mit sich selbst auseinanderzusetzen. In dieser Situation fanden ganz besondere Treffen statt. Jeder meiner Mitarbeiter fand einen völlig anderen Menschen und eine andere Seele in sich, die so lange auf dieses entdeckt werden wartete.

Seven North Vienna

Dann, als wir öffneten, trafen wir uns alle wieder und ich fühlte etwas tieferes in mir, ich fühlte etwas frischeres, knackigeres in ihnen, ich fühlte, dass sie zuhören und nicht auf das nicht endende Geräusch, das sie umgibt, achteten, stattdessen hören sie auf einen kleinen Puls des Herzens, das sie noch nie gehört haben.

Das Ergebnis ist, dass wir stärker sind zusammen und das Essen und die Energie in den Restaurants viel besser sind als je zuvor.

Wie hat es sich für Sie angefühlt, Ihrer Arbeit nicht nachgehen zu können?

Ich habe gearbeitet; Ich habe nicht aufgehört, meine Arbeit zu tun, meine Arbeit hat sich gewandelt. Ich habe viel Zeit damit verbracht, mit meinen Leuten zu sprechen, um zu versuchen, die Bewegung der Welt zu verstehen, um zu versuchen, die Zukunft zu verstehen, den Charakter des Essens, den es in Zukunft haben wird.

Wenn auf der Welt etwas so großes und drastisches passiert, arbeiten Sie die ganze Zeit.

Können Sie aus professioneller Sicht etwas Positives aus dem Lock down ziehen?

Ich habe die Geschwindigkeit und die Energie geändert

Anstatt es nach draußen zu geben, um allem zu folgen, wandelte ich sie in eine tiefe innere Energie um und von diesem Standpunkt aus konnte ich alles klarer sehen und besser kochen.

Konnten Sie die Zeit nutzen, um etwas Neues zu entwickeln, zum Beispiel neue Gerichte? Wenn ja, wie war das Ergebnis?

Das ist eine gute Frage. Ich zermarterte mein Gehirn, um das zukünftige Essen der Welt zu finden. Drei Monate habe ich alleine darüber nachgedacht. Ohne nichts zu verstehen, ohne eine Vision zu sehen, und eines Tages verstand ich alles. Vor Corona fanden wir das Essen der Zukunft. Essen ist nicht nur Essen, es ist die Umwelt, die Menschen, die es schaffen, die Beziehungen zwischen den Menschen in unserem Team, die Arbeitsweise, die Art und Weise, ein Unternehmen zu führen, das Glück unserer Kunden, die Frage der Aufmerksamkeit, des Respekts der Menschen und das Essen zu respektieren.

Seven North Vienna

Die Art und Weise, wie wir unser Essen kreieren und über Essen nachdenken, unsere „Religion“ fanden wir schon vor Corona, jetzt müssen wir nur sehr kleine Änderungen vornehmen und es für die Zukunft rahmen.

Was sind Ihre Gefühle für die nächsten Monate?

Die Welt hat sich verändert. Es wird viel intimer sein. Ich denke, dass alle Rahmen, die die Welt hatte, geschmolzen sind, also müssen wir einen neuen Rahmen bauen. Die Menschen werden viel mehr zusammen sein, sie werden nicht versuchen, den äußeren Geräuschen und der hohen Geschwindigkeit zu folgen, sie werden versuchen, sich selbst zu finden.

Eyal Shani
Eyal Shani, Photo: Ariel Efron

Eine der besten Möglichkeiten, sich selbst zu finden, besteht darin, das Essen zu finden, das in diese Art von Leben passt.

Der renommierte Chef, Eyal Shani, vertraut bei seinem Menü auf frische Zutaten und südlich-mediterrane Aromen. Das Seven North in Wien reiht sich zu Shanis beachtlicher Liste an Lokalen hinzu. Erst kürzlich eröffnete der israelische Starkoch das HaSalon in New Yorks Hell’s Kitchen. Dazu gesellen sich das North Abraxas, Port Said, Romano und HaSalon in Tel Aviv und das Miznon, das in Paris, der Wiener Innenstadt, sowie Melbournes zentraler Hardware Lane und New York-Chelsea Market zu finden ist.  

Photos: Seven North


SEVEN NORTH by Eyal Shani
Schottenfeldgasse 74
1070 Wien, Östrreich
online >>