Giraffe Manor: Inhouse Safari Adventure // HOTEL

One of the most unforgettable bucket list experience in the world. Giraffe Manor and its Giraffe-Breakfast Adventure reconnects one with nature and its incredible creatures.

Photos by Giraffe Manor

Giraffe Manor is an exclusive boutique hotel, owned by The Safari Collection. The hotel is set in 12 acres of private land within 150 acres of indigenous forest in the Langata suburb of Nairobi. As one of Nairobi’s most iconic buildings, Giraffe Manor has extraordinary appeal that harks back to the 1930s when European visitors first flocked to East Africa to enjoy safaris. 

The beautiful old house fascinates with charm and history. With its stately façade, elegant interior, verdant green gardens, sunny terraces and delightful courtyards, guests often remark that it’s like walking into the film “Out of Africa” – indeed, one of its 12 rooms is named after the author Karen Blixen.

The Safari Collection

The historic building is located within a sanctuary for the rare and endangered Rothschild’s giraffes, which is owned by AFEW (African Fund for Endangered Wildlife). The area of about 150 hectares is divided by a kind of “residential road” of the giraffes, which zhey cross twice a day to get from one side to the other.

Giraffe Manor is situated in this residential street through which the herd of Rothschild giraffes pass. So the giraffes visit the guests in the mornings and evenings during their tour through the sanctury.

The giraffes are wild animals and the hotel cannot guarantee what sort of interaction guests will have with them. The giraffes sometimes poking their long necks into the windows in the hope of a treat, before retreating to their forest sanctuary. 

The Safari Collection

Enjoying breakfast and afternoon tea with special guests

Waking up to breakfast with a giraffe is maybe one of the most incredible and unique experiences one can have. Giraffe Manor offers this activity exclusively to their guests which decide to stay overnight. Loping across the manor lawns and peering in through the large windows with their elegant necks. Encountering their endangered Rothschild’s giraffes at such close quarters gives a real appreciation of just how beautiful and soulful these animals are.

The Safari Collection

With their inquisitive tongues, which can grow up to twenty inches long, they investigate what’s on offer. Luckily, they are after nutritious dried grass and pellets and not the guests’ pancakes!

Enjoying an afternoon tea on the terrace as the sun sets behind the Ngong Hills really connects guests with nature. Accompanied by a few long-legged friends, makes it to a real adventure. Reserved exclusively for in-house guests, an afternoon tea at the manor is a delightful occasion not to be missed. Relaxing in the tranquil setting of the manor gardens with giraffes in view.

It is also a great chance to take a seat on the over-sized garden swing and perhaps even snap a swing selfie while feeding a giraffe!

Safari adventure in front of the hotel

When strolling across the front lawn of the house guests will reach the AFEW Giraffe Centre. Founded in 1979, the centre’s mission is to educate school children about their country’s incredible wildlife and environment, alongside their breeding program of the endangered Rothschild’s giraffe.

Giraffe Manor

Each guest of Giraffe Manor automatically pays within their stay a donation to AFEW which goes towards their wildlife conservation projects across Kenya. At the Giraffe Centre, visitors can get extremely up close and personal to the world’s tallest species.

Up on the feeding platform the giraffes love to interact with visitors, reaching out with their long, inquisitive tongues in hope of a treat. Seeing their mascara-like eyelashes from just inches away, feeling the roughness of their dark tongues and witnessing their different personalities is fascinating.

About The Safari Collection

Established by Tanya and Mikey Carr-Hartley in 2009, The Safari Collection owns a portfolio of four distinct luxury camps and lodges in the most beautiful locations throughout Kenya. Descended from settler families, Tanya and Mikey are fourth generation Kenyans each with long histories in East Africa.

Tanya spent her childhood on Loldia Farm on the shores of Lake Naivasha in the Great Rift Valley, helping to manage and conserve the family farm. Over 200 kilometres further north, Mikey grew up on a 45,000-acre ranch in Laikipia, tracking animals in the footsteps of his grandfather, who was a renowned wildlife handler.

The Safari Collection

More about The Safari Collection >> online

Giraffe Manor: Inhouse Safari Abenteuer // HOTEL

Eines der unvergesslichsten Erlebnisse der Welt – Giraffe Manor und sein Giraffen-Abenteuer verbindet mit der Natur und ihren unglaublichen Lebeweisen.

Fotos by Giraffe Manor

Giraffe Manor ist ein exklusives BoutiqueHotel, im Besitz von The Safari Collection. Das Hotel befindet sich auf einem 12 Hektar großen Privatgrundstück inmitten von 150 Hektar einheimischem Wald im Vorort Langata von Nairobi. Als eines der ikonischsten Gebäude Nairobis hat das Giraffe Manor eine außergewöhnliche Geschichte, die bis in die 1930er Jahre zurückreicht.

Das wunderschöne alte Haus fasziniert mit Charme und Geschichte. Mit seiner stattlichen Fassade, dem eleganten Interieur, den grünen Gärten, den sonnigen Terrassen und den reizvollen Innenhöfen fühlen sich Gäste, in einem der 12 Zimmer des Hotels, wie in dem Film.

The Safari Collection

Das historische Gebäude befindet sich innerhalb eines Schutzgebietes, der seltenen und gefährdeten Rothschild-Giraffen, welches sich im Besitz von AFEW (African Fund for Endangered Wildlife) befindet. Das etwa 150 Hektar große Gebiet wird durch eine Art „Wohnstraße“ der Giraffen geteilt, die diese zweimal am Tag überqueren, um von einer Seite zur anderen zu gelangen.

Giraffe Manor liegt in dieser Wohnstraße welche die Herde der ansässigen Rothschild-Giraffen durchqueren. So besuchen die Giraffen die Gäste des Hotels, morgens und abends, während ihrer Tour durch das Schutzgebiet.

Da die Giraffen wilde Tiere sind kann das Hotel nicht garantieren, welche Art von Interaktion die Gäste mit ihnen haben werden. Auf der Suche nach Nahrung, strecken die Giraffen ihre langen Hälse in die Fenster des Hotels, bevor sie sich in ihr Waldrefugium zurückziehen.

The Safari Collection

Frühstück und Nachmittagstee mit besonderen Gästen

Die Giraffen schlendern über die Rasenflächen und spähen mit ihren eleganten Hälsen durch die großen Fenster des Herrenhauses. Die Begegnung mit den vom Aussterben bedrohten Rothschild-Giraffen aus nächster Nähe, vermittelt ein Gefühl dafür wie schön und seelenvoll diese Tiere sind.

Mit ihren neugierigen Zungen, die bis zu zwanzig Zentimeter lang sein können, erforschen sie die von Gästen angebotene Nahrung.

The Safari Collection

Ein Frühstück mit einer Giraffe ist vielleicht eines der unglaublichsten und einzigartigsten Erlebnisse, die man erleben darf. Das Giraffe Manor bietet diese Aktivität ausschließlich und exklusiv seinen Übernachtungsgästen an.

Einen Nachmittagstee auf der Terrasse, während die Sonne hinter den Ngong Hills untergeht, verbindet Gäste wahrhaft mit der Schönheit der Natur. Im Giraffe Manor wird dieses Erlebnis dank der Giraffen zu einem unvergesslichen SafariAbentuer

Die Gartenschaukel bietet eine weitere Möglichkeit die Giraffen von Nahem zu erleben und zu füttern.

Safari-Abenteuer direkt vor dem Hotel

Bei einem Spaziergang über das Hotelgelände gelangen Gäste zum AFEW Giraffe Centre. Das 1979 gegründete Zentrum unterrichtet einheimische Schulkinder über die unglaubliche Tierwelt und Umwelt ihres Landes. Zudem haben sie ein Zuchtprogramm, dass das Aussterben der gefährdeten Rothschild-Giraffe verhindern soll.

Giraffe Manor

Jeder Gast des Giraffe Manor zahlt im Rahmen seines Aufenthalts automatisch eine Spende an die AFEW, die in deren Wildtierschutzprojekte in ganz Kenia fließt.

Auf der Fütterungsplattform des Giraffe Center lieben es die Giraffen, mit den Besuchern zu interagieren und strecken ihre langen, neugierigen Zungen nach ihren Besuchern. Es ist faszinierend, ihre beeindruckenden Wimpern aus wenigen Zentimetern Entfernung zu sehen, die Textur ihrer dunklen Zungen zu spüren und ihre unterschiedlichen Persönlichkeiten zu erleben.

Über The Safari Collection

The Safari Collection wurde 2009 von Tanya und Mikey Carr-Hartley gegründet und führen gemeinsam vier verschiedenen LuxusCamps und –Lodges an den schönsten Orten in Kenia. Tanya und Mikey stammen von Siedlerfamilien ab und sind Kenianer in vierter Generation. Beide tragen eine lange Geschichte von Ostafrika in sich.

Tanya verbrachte ihre Kindheit auf der Loldia Farm am Ufer des Naivasha-Sees im Great Rift Valley und half, die Familienfarm zu verwalten. Über 200 Kilometer weiter nördlich wuchs Mikey auf einer 45.000-Hektar-Ranch in Laikipia auf, wo er in den Fußstapfen seines Großvaters, der ein renommierter Wildhüter war, Tiere aufspürte.

The Safari Collection

Mehr über The Safari Collection >> online