THE PERFECT GUEST an essay by franzobel

My wife, this wonderful being, never orders what is on the menu. She wants salad instead of mashed potato, the burger should come without the chips, and the meat must be medium-cooked, the Quattro Stagioni should have some more artichokes instead of mushrooms, the icing sugar on the Esterházy torta distresses her and the apple juice must be please mixed with still water. When ordering Asian food, she always asks for an extra hot sauce if the dish is indicated with three chillies, and in the country guesthouse she orders the mixed dumpling plate with hash instead of bacon dumplings and without the sauerkraut. Practically all of her orders have some kind of additional instruction. Why in kitchen God’s name do you need that special treatment? Why can’t a person order what is on the menu? Does it have to do with loss of control? With maintaining a touch of personal responsibility for what we eat?

Or Susan Sontag: the famous American essayist always wanted another hotel room, as I was told by a woman in charge of book tour supervision. Not even two minutes after checking in, that is, she would go back to reception, complain about something and demand a room change. Always! This is also a form of artistic attention-grabbing.

But the buzz word among all restaurateurs is food intolerance. Recently, a hotelier told me that a guest had tormented him for two weeks with special requests: there should be no cream in his celery soup, no egg in his schnitzel breading, and in any case wheat flour was poison and cow milk was suicide. Well, allergies are a serious issue. People, exposed to ever stronger environmental conditions, burdened by artificial supermarket food, surrounded by pollutants and electric smog, are becoming sensitive and are reacting. The results of ignoring an intolerance can be awful. This is all very true, and the hotelier and his chef went to a lot of trouble to meet all their guest’s wishes. But when, after days of scrupulous hassling, he suddenly stowed away two portions of Salzburger Nockerl with vanilla sauce, and justified himself to the utterly perplexed hotelier by saying that he was perfectly allowed to make an exception once a week, the restaurateur was totally confused.

Guests are, according to his findings, more and more difficult. There are so many stories you
could write a book.

But who would want to read something like that? The guest is king, but this shouldn’t mean that you should behave like a tyrant, regarding the bathrobe, the silverware and the art prints on the walls as your own property. And smashing the inventory, as used to be the custom for rockstars, does not go down well.

From the point of view of most hoteliers and restaurateurs, the perfect guest simply enjoys and praises. He should not have any extra requests or have any issues, to the point that, as an introverted guest, you sometimes think: next time I’ll just send the money and stay at home. Mass tourism increases alienation. For tourism professionals, guests become replaceable, while tourists’ brazenness grows.

Only when you treat people with decency, respect and humility, and are understanding of the other side, does eating and travelling become what it should be: a wonderful experience. And if there are any extra requests here and there, people can take care of them, as long as they don’t become a habit. But tell that to my wife.

Franzobel is an Austrian writer. He has published numerous plays, works of prose and poems. His plays have been produced in countries including Mexico, Argentina, Chile, Denmark, France, Poland, Romania, Ukraine, Italy, Russia and the USA.

His great historical adventure novel “Das Floß der Medusa” (Zsolnay publishing house) was awarded the Bayerischer Buchpreis (Bavarian Book Award) 2017 and was on the shortlist for the German Book Prize 2017.

DER PERFEKTE GAST ein Essay von franzobel

Meine Frau, dieses wunderbare Wesen, bestellt nie, was auf der Speisekarte steht. Statt dem Kartoffelpüree will sie lieber Salat, beim Burger soll man die Pommes weglassen, dafür muss das Fleisch medium sein, auf der Quattro Stagioni dürfen statt der Pilze etwas mehr Artischocken liegen, an der Esterhazyschnitte stört die Zuckerglasur und der gespritzte Apfelsaft (die Apfelschorle) muss bitte ohne Kohlensäure kommen. Beim Asiaten verlangt sie selbst dann eine scharfe Sauce extra, wenn das Gericht mit drei Chilischoten markiert ist, und im Landgasthaus ordert sie die gemischte Knödelplatte mit Haschee- statt Speckknödel und ohne Sauerkraut. Praktisch keine Bestellung, die nicht irgendeine Zusatzanweisung erhält. Warum um Küchengottes Willen diese Extrawürste? Warum kann man nicht das bestellen, was auf der Karte steht? Geht es um Kontrollverlust? Darum, sich bei der Nahrung einen Rest an Eigenverantwortung zu erhalten?


Oder Susan Sontag: Die bekannte amerikanische Essayistin wollte, ich weiß das von einer für Lesereisenbetreuung zuständigen Verlagsfrau, immer ein anderes Hotelzimmer. Keine zwei Minuten nach dem Einchecken, heißt es, kam sie zurück zur Rezeption, beanstandete irgendwas und verlangte einen Zimmerwechsel. Immer! Auch das ist eine Form künstlicher Aufmerksamkeitsgenerierung.

Das Reizwort für alle Gastronomen lautet aber Nahrungsmittelunverträglichkeit. Unlängst hat mir ein Hotelier erzählt, ein Gast hätte ihn zwei Wochen lang mit Sonderwünschen gequält, in der Selleriesuppe dürfe kein Schlagobers sein,
in der Schnitzelpanier kein Ei, Weizenmehl sei ohnehin Gift und Milch von der Kuh etwas für Selbstmörder. Gut, Allergien sind eine ernste Angelegenheit. Der Mensch, immer stärkeren Umwelteinflüssen ausgesetzt, von künstlicher Supermarktnahrung belastet, von Schadstoffen und Elektrosmog umwölkt, wird dünnhäutiger und reagiert. Das Ergebnis einer ignorierten Unverträglichkeit kann scheußlich sein. Soweit so wahr, und der Hotelier und sein Koch haben sich auch die größte Mühe gegeben, alle Wünsche ihres Gastes zu erfüllen. Als dieser aber dann nach tagelanger pingeliger Herumfitzelei mirnichtsdirnichts zwei Portionen Salzburger Nockerl mit Vanillesauce verdrückte und sich gegenüber dem völlig perplexen Hotelier damit rechtfertigte, dass er einmal in der Woche durchaus sündigen dürfe, verstand der Gastronom die Welt nicht mehr.

Gäste werden, so sein Befund, immer schwieriger. Geschichten gäbe es da, damit könnte man Romane füllen.

Aber wer will so etwas lesen? Der Gast ist König, doch das bedeutet nicht, dass man sich wie ein Tyrann benehmen muss, Bademäntel, Silberbesteck und die Kunstdrucke von den Wänden als Eigentum betrachten darf. Auch ein Zertrümmern des Inventars, wie es bei Rockstars eine Weile lang Brauch gewesen ist, kommt nicht gut an.

Aus Sicht der meisten Hoteliers und Gastronomen genießt der perfekte Gast und lobt. Keine Extrawünsche soll er haben und keine Probleme machen, was manchmal soweit geht, dass man sich selbst als introvertierter Gast denkt: Nächstes Mal schicke ich nur das Geld und bleibe selbst zuhause. Der Massentourismus verstärkt die Entfremdung. Für den Touristiker werden die Gäste austauschbar, während bei Letzteren die Unverschämtheit zunimmt.

Nur wenn man sich mit Anstand, Respekt und Bescheidenheit begegnet, auch Verständnis für die andere Seite hat, wird das Reisen und Essen zu dem, was es sein soll, einem wunderbaren Erlebnis. Gibt es hie und da mal Extrawünsche, geht man gerne darauf ein, solange sie nicht die Regel sind. Aber sagen Sie das mal meiner Frau.

Franzobel ist ein österreichischer Schriftsteller. Er veröffentlichte zahlreiche Theaterstücke, Prosa und Lyrik. Seine Theaterstücke wurden unter anderem in Mexiko, Argentinien, Chile, Dänemark, Frankreich, Polen, Rumänien, der Ukraine, Italien, Russland und den USA gezeigt.

Sein großer historischer Abenteuerroman „Das Floß der Medusa“ (Zsolnay Verlag) wurde mit dem Bayerischen Buchpreis 2017 ausgezeichnet und stand auf der Shortlist zum Deutschen Buchpreis 2017