Mercedes EQS: an electric vehicle in the luxury class // DESIGN

Mercedes EQS

The EQS is the first all-electric luxury saloon from Mercedes-EQ. With it, Mercedes-EQ is redefining this vehicle segment. The EQS is also the first model to be based on the modular architecture for luxury and executive-class electric vehicles. Fusing technology, design, functionality and connectivity, the EQS delights both drivers and passengers.

Elektro Luxuslimousine

Luxury limousine meets sustainability

As part of its Ambition 2039 initiative, Mercedes-Benz is working on offering a carbonneutral new car fleet within 20 years from now. By as early as 2030, the company wants more than half the cars it sells to feature electric drive systems – this includes fully electric vehicles and plugin hybrids.

In many areas, Mercedes is already thinking about tomorrow today: the new EQS is designed to be correspondingly sustainable. The vehicles are produced in a carbonneutral manner, and resourcesaving materials such as carpets made from recycled yarn are used. This is because Mercedes-Benz considers the entire value chain, from development and the supplier network to its own production. Mercedes-Benz AG has had its climate protection targets confirmed by the Science Based Targets Initiative (SBTI).

“The EQS is a milestone on the way to CO2-neutrality and our plan for a climate-neutral new car fleet. Our goal is to minimize our impact on the planet. We do this, for example, by using an increasing proportion of recycled and renewable raw materials. We also help the customer to minimise their carbon footprint with our new function Green Charging. This feeds as much green electricity back into the grid as the Mercedes-EQ needs to charge.”

Britta Seeger, Member of the Daimler AG and Mercedes-Benz AG Boards of Management, Marketing & Sales

The EQS is the world’s most aerodynamic production vehicle, with a drag coefficient of just 0.20. This contributes to its electric range of up to 770 kilometres according to WLTP. With its fast-charging capacity of up to 200 kW, up to 300 kilometres of range can be added in just 15 minutes. All this, together with new battery chemistry, results in a perfect balance between performance, efficiency, range and ease of charging.

Elektro Luxuslimousine

“Its technology goes beyond electric driving”

Markus Schäfer, Member of the Daimler AG and Mercedes-Benz AG Boards of Management; Daimler Group Research and COO Mercedes-Benz Cars

Sensual Purity

The EQS is a close relative of the new S-Class, it is built on an all-electric architecture. This completely new concept made a rigorous Purpose Design possible: with its onebow lines and cab-forward design with fastback, the EQS is clearly distinguishable from vehicles with combustion engines even at first glance.

The design philosophy of Sensual Purity, combined with Progressive Luxury, is reflected in generously sculpted surfaces, reduced joints and seamless transitions, a seamless design.

As an exceptionally intelligent vehicle, the EQS furthermore has up to 350 sensors. These record distances, speeds and accelerations, lighting conditions, precipitation and temperatures, seat occupancy as well as the driver’s blink of an eye or the passengers’ speech.

Mercedes Benz Elektro Luxuslimousine

„The EQS is designed to exceed the expectations of even our most demanding customers. That’s exactly what a Mercedes has to do to earn the letter ’S’ in its name. Because we don’t award that letter lightly.”

Ola Källenius, CEO of Daimler AG and Mercedes-Benz AG
Elektro Luxuslimousine

Modern future-features

With the optional DRIVE PILOT, the EQS will be able to drive in conditionally automated mode at up to 60 km/h where traffic density is high or in tailbacks on suitable motorway sections, initially in Germany. By relieving the pressure on the driver, the system enables to undertake secondary activities.

“Our electric offensive is in full swing. Further models will soon follow the new architecture with the EQE business sedan and the EQS and EQE SUV variants.”

Christoph Starzynski, Vice-President Electric Vehicle Architecture
Elektro Luxuslimousine

About Mercedes Benz Austria GmbH
Mercedes-Benz Österreich GmbH is a 100 percent subsidiary of Daimler AG. The company is based in Eugendorf. Mercedes-Benz Austria is the general importer of the registered Daimler brands Mercedes-Benz, Mercedes-AMG and smart for passenger cars as well as the brands Mercedes-Benz commercial vehicles. With around 180 employees, the company coordinates sales, marketing, service and press activities in Austria. Distribution takes place via the authorized dealer network and the operating locations operated by the dealers. The service work is carried out by the authorized workshops. In 2020, 11,983 Mercedes-Benz cars (including the V-Class), 6,218 vans (excluding the V-Class) and 269 smart cars were registered in Austria.

More about the EQS by Mercedes-EQ >> online

Mercedes EQS: ein Elektrofahrzeug der Luxusklasse // DESIGN

Mercedes EQS

Der EQS ist die erste vollelektrische Luxuslimousine von Mercedes-EQ. Als erstes Modell steht der EQS zudem auf der modularen Architektur für Elektrofahrzeuge der Luxus- und Oberklasse. Durch die Verschmelzung von Technologie, Design, Funktionalität und Konnektivität begeistert der EQS Fahrer und Passagiere.

Mercedes EQS

Luxuslimousine trifft auf Nachhaltigkeit

Als Teil der Ambition 2039 arbeitet Mercedes-Benz daran, in weniger als 20 Jahren eine CO2-neutrale Neuwagen-Flotte anzubieten. Bereits bis 2030 will das Unternehmen mehr als die Hälfte seiner Autos mit Elektroantrieb verkaufen – hierzu zählen vollelektrische Fahrzeuge und Plug-in-Hybride.

In vielen Bereichen denkt Mercedes-Benz heute schon an morgen: Entsprechend nachhaltig ist der neue EQS konzipiert. Die Fahrzeuge werden CO2-neutral produziert, und es kommen ressourcenschonende Materialien wie Teppiche aus Recyclinggarn zum Einsatz. Denn Mercedes-Benz betrachtet die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette von der Entwicklung über das Lieferantennetz bis zur eigenen Produktion. Ihre Klimaschutzziele hat die Mercedes-Benz AG wissenschaftsbasiert von der Science Based Targets Initiative (SBTI) bestätigen lassen.

„Der EQS ist ein Meilenstein auf dem Weg zur CO2-Neutralität und unserem Plan einer klimaneutralen Neuwagenflotte. Unser Ziel ist es, die Auswirkungen auf unseren Planeten so gering wie möglich zu halten.“

Britta Seeger, Mitglied des Vorstands der Daimler AG und Mercedes-Benz AG, verantwortlich für Vertrieb

Der EQS ist das aerodynamischste Serienfahrzeug der Welt mit einem Luftwiderstandsbeiwert von nur 0,20. Davon profitiert vor allem die elektrische Reichweite von bis zu 770 Kilometern nach WLTP. Mit einer Schnellladeleistung von bis zu 200 kW lassen sich in nur 15 Minuten bis zu 300 Kilometer Reichweite gewinnen. Dies alles führt zusammen mit einer neuen Batteriechemie zu einem perfekten Gleichgewicht zwischen Leistung, Effizienz, Reichweite und einfacher Aufladung.

Mercedes EQS

„Seine Technologie geht über das elektrische Fahren hinaus.“

Markus Schäfer, Mitglied des Vorstands der Daimler AG und Mercedes-Benz AG; verantwortlich für Daimler Konzernforschung und Mercedes-Benz Cars COO

Sinnliches Design

Der EQS ist zwar ein enger Verwandter der neuen S-Klasse, steht aber auf einer reinen Elektroarchitektur. Diese komplette Neukonzeption ermöglichte ein konsequentes Purpose-Design: Mit seiner One-Bow-Linienführung und dem Cab-Forward-Design mit Fließheck unterscheidet sich der EQS bereits auf den ersten Blick deutlich von Fahrzeugen mit Verbrennungsmotor.

Die Designphilosophie der Sinnlichen Klarheit, kombiniert mit Progressive Luxury, spiegelt sich in großzügig modellierten Flächen, reduzierten Fugen und nahtlosen Übergängen (Seamless Design) wider.

Die Black-Panel-Kühlerverkleidung mit zentralem Mercedes Stern lässt sich in ihrer Exklusivität noch steigern: Als Sonderausstattung gibt es sie auch mit einem dreidimensionalen Stern-Muster.

Mercedes Benz Elektro Luxuslimousine

„Der EQS wurde entwickelt, um selbst die Erwartungen unserer anspruchsvollsten Kunden zu übertreffen. Genau das muss ein Mercedes leisten, um sich den Buchstaben ‚S‘ im Namen zu verdienen. Denn diesen Buchstaben vergeben wir nicht leichtfertig.“

Ola Källenius, Vorstandsvorsitzender der Daimler AG und der Mercedes-Benz AG
Elektro Luxuslimousine

Moderne Features der Zukunft

Mit dem neuen EQS wurde eine völlig neue, zukünftige Generation von Luxusautos geschaffen. Mit der Sonderausstattung DRIVE PILOT wird der EQS bei hohem Verkehrsaufkommen oder Stausituationen auf geeigneten Autobahnabschnitten zunächst in Deutschland bis 60 km/h hochautomatisiert fahren können.

„Unsere Elektrooffensive ist in vollem Schwung. Auf der neuen Architektur folgen mit der Business-Limousine EQE und den SUV-Varianten von EQS und EQE schon bald weitere Modelle.“

Christoph Starzynski, Vice-President Electric Vehicle Architecture
Elektro Luxuslimousine

Über Mercedes Benz Österreich GmbH
Die Mercedes-Benz Österreich GmbH ist eine 100-Prozent-Tochter der Daimler AG. Der Sitz des Unternehmens ist in Eugendorf. Mercedes-Benz Österreich ist Generalimporteur der eingetragenen Daimler-Marken Mercedes-Benz, Mercedes-AMG und smart bei Pkw sowie der Marken Mercedes-Benz Nutzfahrzeuge. Das Unternehmen koordiniert mit rund 180 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern die Vertriebs-, Marketing- Service- und Presseaktivitäten in Österreich. Der Vertrieb erfolgt über das autorisierte Händlernetz und die von den Händlern betriebenen Betriebsstandorte. Die Servicearbeiten werden von den autorisierten Werkstätten durchgeführt. Im Jahr 2020 wurden in Österreich 11.983 Mercedes-Benz PKW (inkl. V-Klasse), 6.218 Transporter (exkl. V-Klasse) und 269 smart zugelassen.

Mehr über den neuen EQS von Mercedes-EQ >> online