Lost in fashion: Tokyo’s most renowned designers & new labels

Issey Miyake ISSEY IYAKE, Photo: Olivier Baco

THE Stylemate took a look around the metropolis of Tokyo and showcases here several of the most renowned designers and the most exciting new labels in the Japanese capital.

Today, the legacies of Yamamoto, Miyake et al. have long since emerged from the shadows of their predecessors…

Text: Nora Palzenberger


YOHJI YAMAMOTO

yohjiyamamoto.co.jp

Yohji Yamamoto

The designer

He may only be 1.6 metres tall but he is one of Japan’s most prominent fashion designers. Yohji Yamamoto was raised by his mother and applied to study law as a way to help them both, but he instead took up an apprenticeship at a family-owned tailoring business and eventually went on to study fashion at the famous Bunka Fashion College in Tokyo.

Photo: Kazumi Kurigami

The label

Yohji Yamamoto sees himself as more of a tailor than a maker of fast fashion. He debuted his first prêt-à-porter collection under his own name in Paris in 1981. As part of the Japanese avant-garde of the 1980s, the “architect among fashion designers” created artfully draped voluminous clothing, thereby producing abstract and asymmetrical silhouettes that disguised the body rather than accentuating it. He bases his preference for black on the fact that his mother always wore black following the death of her husband during the war.

Photos: Monica Feudi

The passion

The Japanese designer started learning karate at the age of 45, and now has a black belt.

Yohji Yamamoto | 5 Chome-3-6 Minami-Aoyama Minato-ku | Tokyo 107-0062


JUNKO SHIMADA

junkoshimada.com

Junko Shimada

The designer

The lady with the graceful figure and loosely tied silver-haired bun could well be the most French of all Japanese women. Following her studies at the Sujino Gajen Dressmaker Institute in Tokyo and a trip to Paris, the designer moved to the French capital and worked for the Cacharel fashion house. She then founded her own brand in 1981 and opened her first boutique on rue Étienne Marcel in 1984.

Photo: Yamashita

The label

Junko Shimada has a timeless yet extravagant style. Bold prints, oversized jumpers and transparent shirts blend to create her signature avant-garde look.

Photos: Carlo Scarpato

The passion

Shimada describes herself as “unassuming and humble like any well-behaved Japanese woman, but also independent and spirited like a Parisian Amazon”. The designer values her independence greatly: her label is one of the few that doesn’t hide behind a much larger enterprise.

Junko Shimada | Matsuya Ginza 4F | 3-6-1 Ginza | Chuo-ku | Tokyo 104-0061


ISSEY MIYAKE

isseymiyake.com

Satoshi Kondo

The designer

Satoshi Kondo has been a member of the Issey Miyake design team for 13 years. Born in 1984 in Kyoto, he went to the Ueda College of Fashion in Osaka, then designed for the brand’s Pleats Please Issey Miyake line before taking over from Yoshiyuki Miyamae as artistic director of women’s fashion in autumn 2019.

Photo: Go Itami

The label

The eponymous founder of the Issey Miyake label reinterpreted traditional Japanese folding techniques and created clothing out of crease-resistant polyester pleats that resembled sculptures. Satoshi Kondo has now catapulted the designs into the future and given the label a fresh new image. During his forward-looking spring/summer 2020 show, he dressed his models both on the catwalk and suspended from the ceiling using parachute-like material. For the finale, brightly coloured pleated dresses floated down onto the models, who then started to dance happily.

I wanted to express the joy of clothes and the joy of movement,

said the designer of the idea behind the performance.

Photos: Alessandro Lucioni

The passion

Satoshi Kondo drew constantly as a child. His mother, an apprentice dressmaker, also created clothing out of paper, and this had a huge influence on her son.

3-18-11 Minami-Aoyama | Minato-ku | Tokyo 107-0062


YOHEI OHNO

yoheiohno.com

Yohei Ohno

The designer

Yohei Ohno started his career by studying at the Bunka Fashion College in Tokyo, where his creations were strongly influenced by his fascination with design greats such as Nicolas Ghesquière and Christopher Kane. He first discovered his very unique style when he left the Japanese capital and went to study at Nottingham Trent University in the UK. Back in his home country, the designer launched his namesake label in 2014, and three years later won the Tokyo Fashion Award.

Photo: PR

The label

The “exploration of materials and shapes” is the founding idea behind the up-and-coming label. Yohei Ohno’s aesthetic is guided by art, architecture and the use of technical materials. The result? Minimalist and sculptural silhouettes that offer the perfect balance between artistic demand and modern wearability.

Photos: PR

The passion

Yohei Ohno is considered to be one of the most promising Japanese designers, and as well as creating fashion pieces also creates handmade art objects.

I’d like to continue doing this, bit by bit, and give them a longer lifespan than my fashion.

10F Atelier C 23-21 Sakuragaokacho | Shibuya-ku | Tokyo 150-0031


CHIKA KISADA

chikakisada.com

Chika Kisada

The designer

Fashion-enthusiast friends passed on the fashion bug to Chika Kisada, a former professional ballerina. Before launching her namesake label in 2014, she established Japanese fashion brand Rekisami. She was presented with the Tokyo Fashion Award in 2017.

Photo: PR

The label

Feminine elegance paired with punk attitude: Chika Kisada loves that her creations combine opposites such as rough and smooth materials, or playful and minimalist details. Her designs take inspiration from tulle and tutus and are worn by cosmopolitan women who are always on the move and looking for a new definition of high quality.

The passion

You’d think it would be more likely to see the delicate Japanese designer on the stage than on the catwalk: Chika Kisada has practised ballet since she was a child and received many honours for her performances. Today, her designs reflect her passion for the dance style.

7F, 1-1-2 Hatagaya | Shibuya-ku | Tokyo 151-0072


DRESSED UNDRESSED

dressedundressed.com

Takeshi Kitazawa

The designer

Takeshi Kitazawa was 24 years old when the owner of a second hand shop asked whether he wanted to open a new shop with him. Although he had no experience at all of the fashion industry, he said yes and ultimately started designing some of the clothing himself. Once the young Japanese designer had decided he wanted to launch his own label, he spent some time living in London, where he found not only the necessary inspiration but also the courage to move forward with it.

Photo: zimbio.com

The label

Takeshi Kitazawa has devoted himself to creating minimalist unisex collections, as he has found dividing his fashion into genders and sizes to be too stereotypical for his label. Opposing concepts like masculine and feminine, traditional and modern or subtle and extravagant go head to head in his creations.

The passion

Evidence of Takeshi Kitazawa’s love of contrasts can also be found in his taste in music. Even here, the designer is somewhat contradictory – he likes both classical music and punk rock.

UNIT4 3-8-19, Seijo | Setagaya-ku | Tokyo 157-0066


AKIKOAOKI

akikoaoki.com

Akiko Aoki

The designer

Being able to approach fashion from different perspectives was one of the reasons why Akiko Aoki signed up at the Joshibi University of Art and Design, a private women’s art school in Tokyo, before moving on to study at Central Saint Martins in London. After returning to Tokyo, she worked for several years as a design assistant and in 2014 launched her own label. Four years later, she was one of the semi-finalists for the LVMH Prize.

The label

For the 33-year-old Japanese designer, fashion is an attitude, so she has made it her goal to change the social role of designers as mere producers of clothes. Deconstructed cuts, experimenting with gaps in the fabric and masculine silhouettes with a feminine twist are characteristic of Aoki’s noteworthy, often surprising creations.

Photos: PR

The passion

Scents have a particularly strong significance for the designer, “because all of my memories are linked to very specific smells”.

Harajuku Royal Building 6B | 3-38-11 Jingumae Shibuya-ku | Tokyo 150-0001

Lost in fashion: Tokio’s renommierteste Designer & spannende junge Labels

Issey Miyake ISSEY IYAKE, Foto: Olivier Baco

THE Stylemate hat sich in der Modemetropole Tokio umgesehen und zeigt einige der renommiertesten Designer und spannendsten jungen Labels.

Heute sind die Erben von Yamamoto, Miyake & Co. längst aus dem Schatten ihrer Wegbereiter getreten…

Text: Nora Palzenberger


YOHJI YAMAMOTO

yohjiyamamoto.co.jp

Yohji Yamamoto

Der Designer

Er misst nur 1,60 Meter, ist aber einer der ganz großen japanischen Modekünstler. Yohji Yamamoto wuchs als Halbwaise bei seiner Mutter auf und schrieb sich ihr zuliebe zunächst für ein Jus-Studium ein, ehe er doch eine Lehre im familieneigenen Schneideratelier begann und schließlich Mode am renommierten Bunka Fukusō Gakuin Fashion College in Tokio studierte.

Foto: Kazumi Kurigami

Das Label

Yohji Yamamoto selbst sieht sich mehr als Schneider denn als Schöpfer von vergänglicher Mode. 1981 präsentierte er seine nach ihm benannte Hauptlinie erstmals in Paris. Als Teil der japanischen Avantgarde der Achtzigerjahre entwirft der „Architekt unter den Modedesignern“ kunstvoll drapierte, voluminöse Kleider und schafft so abstrakte, asymmetrische Silhouetten, die den Körper verhüllen, anstatt ihn zu betonen. Seine Vorliebe für die Nicht-Farbe Schwarz erklärt er damit, dass seine Mutter nach dem Tod ihres Mannes im Krieg stets Schwarz getragen hatte.

Fotos: Monica Feudi

Die Leidenschaft

Mit 45 Jahren begann der Japaner, Karate zu lernen, heute ist er Träger des schwarzen Gürtels.

Yohji Yamamoto | 5 Chome-3-6 Minami-Aoyama Minato-ku | Tokyo 107-0062


JUNKO SHIMADA

junkoshimada.com

Junko Shimada

Die Designerin

Die Frau mit der anmutigen Silhouette und dem locker gebundenen, silbergrauen Haarknoten gilt als französischste aller Japanerinnen. Nach ihrem Studium am Sujino Gajen Dressmaker Institute in Tokio und einer Reise nach Paris zog die Designerin in die französische Hauptstadt. Dort arbeitete sie zunächst für das Modehaus Cacharel, bevor sie 1981 ihr eigenes Atelier gründete und 1984 ihre erste Boutique auf der Rue Étienne-Marcel in Paris eröffnete.

Foto: Yamashita

Das Label

Junko Shimada hat einen zeitlosen, aber dennoch extravaganten Stil. Gewagte Drucke, Oversize-Pullover und transparente Shirts verschmelzen zu ihrem avantgardistischen Signature-Look.

Fotos: Carlo Scarpato

Die Leidenschaft

Shimada beschreibt sich selbst als „bescheiden und demütig wie eine wohlerzogene Japanerin, aber auch unabhängig und mutig wie eine Pariser Amazone“. Auf ihre Unabhängigkeit legt die Designerin viel Wert: So ist ihr Label eines der wenigen, hinter dem kein großer Konzern steht.

Junko Shimada | Matsuya Ginza 4F | 3-6-1 Ginza | Chuo-ku | Tokyo 104-0061


ISSEY MIYAKE

isseymiyake.com

Satoshi Kondo

Der Designer

Satoshi Kondo ist seit 13 Jahren Teil des Design-Teams von Issey Miyake. Der 1984 in Kyōto geborene Modedesigner besuchte das Ueda College in Osaka und zeichnete für das Schwesterlabel Pleats Please Issey Miyake verantwortlich, bevor er im Herbst 2019 Yoshiyuki Miyamae als Womenswear-Chefdesigner folgte.

Foto: Go Itami

Das Label

Labelgründer und Namensgeber Issey Miyake interpretierte die traditionelle japanische Falttechnik neu und entwarf Kleider aus knitterfreien Polyester-Plissés, die wie Skulpturen anmuteten. Satoshi Kondo holt die Entwürfe in die Zukunft und verleiht dem Label ein frisches Image: Während der futuristischen Frühjahr/ Sommer-2020-Show kleidete er seine Models erst auf dem Laufsteg mithilfe von Seilen, die von der Decke hingen, ein. Für das Finale schwebten bunte Plissékleider von oben auf die Körper der Models herab, die daraufhin fröhlich zu tanzen begannen.

Ich wollte die Freude an Kleidung und die Freude an Bewegung ausdrücken,

so der Designer über die Idee hinter der Performance.

Photos: Alessandro Lucioni

Die Leidenschaft

Satoshi Kondo zeichnete schon als Kind unermüdlich. Auch seine Mutter, eine Schneiderlehrerin, entwarf ihre Kleidung auf Papier, was großen Einfluss auf ihren Sohn hatte.

3-18-11 Minami-Aoyama | Minato-ku | Tokyo 107-0062


YOHEI OHNO

yoheiohno.com

Yohei Ohno

Der Designer

Yohei Ohno besuchte zunächst das Bunka Fukusō Gakuin Fashion College in Tokio, wo seine Entwürfe stark von seiner Faszination für Designgrößen wie Nicolas Ghesquière oder Christopher Kane geprägt waren. Seinen ganz eigenen Stil fand er erst, als er die japanische Metropole verließ, um an der Nottingham Trent University in England zu studieren. Zurück in seiner Heimat launchte der Designer 2014 sein gleichnamiges Label und wurde drei Jahre später mit dem „Tokyo Fashion Award“ ausgezeichnet.

Foto: PR

Das Label

Die „Erforschung von Materialien und Formen“ ist die Grundidee hinter dem jungen Label. Yohei Ohnos Ästhetik ist geleitet von Kunst, Architektur und dem Einsatz technologischer Materialien. Das Ergebnis: minimalistische und skulpturale Silhouetten in perfekter Balance zwischen künstlerischem Anspruch und moderner Tragbarkeit.

Fotos: PR

Die Leidenschaft

Neben der Mode kreiert Yohei Ohno, der als einer der vielversprechendsten japanischen Designer gehandelt wird, auch handgefertigte Kunstobjekte.

Ich würde das gerne weitermachen, Stück für Stück, und mit einer längeren Lebensdauer als meine Mode.

10F Atelier C 23-21 Sakuragaokacho | Shibuya-ku | Tokyo 150-0031


CHIKA KISADA

chikakisada.com

Chika Kisada

Die Designerin

Modebegeisterte Freunde infizierten die ehemalige professionelle Balletttänzerin mit dem Fashion-Virus. Bevor Chika Kisada 2014 das nach ihr benannte Label gründete, baute sie zunächst die japanische Modemarke Rekisami auf. 2017 wurde sie mit dem „Tokyo Fashion Award“ ausgezeichnet.

Foto: PR

Das Label

Feminine Eleganz gepaart mit einer punkigen Attitüde: Chika Kisada liebt es, in ihren Kreationen Gegensätze wie harte und weiche Materialien oder verspielte und minimalistische Details zu vereinen. Ihre von Tüll und Tutu inspirierten Silhouetten tragen kosmopolitische Frauen, die immer in Bewegung und auf der Suche nach einer neuen Definition von hoher Qualität sind.

Die Leidenschaft

Eigentlich würde man die zarte Japanerin eher auf Bühnen als auf Laufstegen vermuten. Seit ihrer Kindheit tanzte Chika Kisada Ballett und erhielt unzählige Ehrungen für ihre Performances. Heute spiegeln ihre Designs ihre Passion für den Tanz wider.

7F, 1-1-2 Hatagaya | Shibuya-ku | Tokyo 151-0072


DRESSED UNDRESSED

dressedundressed.com

Takeshi Kitazawa

Der Designer

Takeshi Kitazawa war 24 Jahre alt, als ihn der Besitzer eines Secondhand-Ladens fragte, ob er mit ihm einen neuen Store eröffnen wollte. Obwohl er keinerlei Erfahrung im Modebusiness hatte, sagte er zu und begann schließlich auch selbst Kleidung zu entwerfen. Nachdem sich der 1982 geborene Japaner entschieden hatte, sein eigenes Label zu gründen, lebte er eine Zeit lang in London, wo er nicht nur die notwendige Inspiration, sondern auch den Mut fand, weiterzumachen.

Foto: zimbio.com

Das Label

Takeshi Kitazawa hat sich minimalistischen Unisex-Kollektionen verschrieben, seine Mode in Geschlechter und Größen zu trennen, empfand er als zu stereotypisch für sein Label. In seinen Entwürfen treffen gegensätzliche Konzepte wie maskulin und feminin, klassisch und modern oder subtil und extravagant aufeinander.

Die Leidenschaft

Takeshi Kitazawas Vorliebe für Kontraste lässt sich unter anderem von seinem Musikgeschmack herleiten. Denn auch hier setzt der Designer auf scheinbar Widersprüchliches – er liebt sowohl klassische Musik als auch Punkrock.

UNIT4 3-8-19, Seijo | Setagaya-ku | Tokyo 157-0066


AKIKOAOKI

akikoaoki.com

Akiko Aoki

Die Designerin

Sich der Mode aus unterschiedlichen Blickwinkeln anzunähern, war einer der Gründe, warum Akiko Aoki sich zunächst auf der privaten Tokioter Frauenuniversität Joshibi für Kunst und Design einschrieb, bevor sie schließlich das Central Saint Martins College in London besuchte. Nach ihrer Rückkehr nach Tokio arbeitete sie einige Jahre als Designassistentin und lancierte 2014 ihr eigenes Label. Vier Jahre später schaffte sie es unter die Semi-Finalisten des „LVMH Awards“.

Das Label

Für die 33-jährige Japanerin ist Mode eine Haltung und so hat sie es sich zum Ziel gemacht, die gesellschaftliche Rolle des Designers als reiner Produzent von Kleidern zu verändern. Dekonstruierte Schnitte, das Spiel mit Brüchen und maskuline Silhouetten mit einem femininen Twist sind charakteristisch für Aokis viel beachtete, oft überraschende Entwürfe.

Fotos: PR

Die Leidenschaft

Düfte haben eine besondere Bedeutung für die Designerin, „weil all meine Erinnerungen an ganz bestimmte Gerüche gebunden sind“.

Harajuku Royal Building 6B | 3-38-11 Jingumae Shibuya-ku | Tokyo 150-0001