Capri Dolce Vita: a sweet summer dream by Assouline // BOOK

Capri Dolce Vita Book by Assouline

Capri, a resort island dating back to the height of the Roman Empire, has long been an extraordinary destination full of ancient charm.

Cherished by everyone from physician Axel Munthe, who recommended its clean air to his patients as a cure for bronchitis; to film director Jean-Luc Godard as the setting for his 1963 film Contempt; to literary icons, celebrities, poets, and the jet set, Capri boasts a rich Mediterranean spirit and style that encompasses a wealth of beauty, from gardens to villas to caves to the people walking in the lively Piazzetta, where cars are prohibited and the island’s playful attitude runs rampant. 

“Capri is magic. I have been there many times with the women i have loved most. That’s why Capri has my heart like nowhere else.”

Gelasio Gaetani d’Aragona, winemaker and writer

Capri Dolce Vita is a look at this fabled corner of the world through the ages and a celebration of paradise on earth.

Editors: Cesare Cunaccia & Assouline
Release date: May 2019
Format: W 9.8 x L 13 x D 1.3 in, 5.6 lb
Features: Linen hardcover, English language, 272 pages, over 200 illustrationen
ISBN: 9781614287834

Capri Dolce Vita by Assouline

About the author

Cesare Cunaccia is a writer, lecturer, curator, and journalist. He was editor at large for Vogue Italia and L’Uomo Vogue and the antiques consultant for Architectural Digest Italy. He has also contributed to the divisions of Architectural Digest in Germany, China, and Russia, as well as Connaissance des ArtsOpera magazine, and L’Oeil.

Cunaccia has published a variety of books, particularly on the Italian artistic heritage, which have been translated into twelve languages.

About Assouline

The illustrated market has become integral to the worlds of luxury, fashion and design. Assouline has actively contributed to this growth by creating the highest quality book-objects whose distinctive graphic identity and editorial savoir-faire have captured imaginations, addressing new themes in a contemporary manner. 

The brand, with its style and vision, is a true pioneer. Beginning in the mid-90s, Assouline brought the illustrated book market to life with products that were modern, luxurious and creative.

“We created this company to be the first luxury brand on culture. We love and believe in books more than everything else and so we wanted to supply everything for a contemporary library.”

says Prosper & Martine Assouline

Today, the luxury book market has become an indispensable tool for luxury brands. Because of decreased visibility in print publications whose distribution has dramatically plummeted and the rise of digital media and “influencers,” luxury brands need a “tangible” product to define their DNA and position themselves in the marketplace. This presents an opportunity for brands to describe their heritage, define their style and bring their creations to life for their international clientele as well as the business world.

“Our digital world goes faster than ever and nothing remains of it, but books are the solid part of our past and present. They also are beauty. For us, books are a matter of intellect and emotion, of heritage and innovation.”

so Prosper & Martine Assouline

Beyond beautiful books Assouline is invested in the promotion of culture. It has created the “first brand of luxury culture” by opening boutiques where one can discover a world of good taste, excitement and intellect, a place where “culture can be acquired” within a luxurious environment. One can purchase complete book collections as well as objects that belong in contemporary libraries such as perfumed candles and “cabinets of curiosities.

More about Assouline >> online

Text & Photos by Assouline

Capri Dolce Vita: ein süßer Sommertraum by Assouline // BOOK

Capri Dolce Vita Book by Assouline

Capri, eine Ferieninsel aus der Blütezeit des Römischen Reiches, ist seit langem ein außergewöhnliches Reiseziel mit antikem Charme.

Geschätzt von vielen, wie zum Beispiel von Arzt Axel Munthe, der seinen Patienten die saubere Luft als Heilmittel für Bronchitis empfahl, über den Filmregisseur Jean-Luc Godard, der Capri als Schauplatz für seinen Film „Verachtung“ von 1963 nutzte, bis hin zu literarischen Ikonen, Berühmtheiten, Dichtern und dem Jetset, rühmt sich Capri eines reichen mediterranen Geistes und Stils, der eine Fülle von Schönheit umfasst.

Von Gärten über Villen und Höhlen bis hin zu den Menschen, die auf der lebhaften Piazzetta spazieren gehen, wo Autos verboten sind und die spielerische Einstellung der Insel überhand nimmt.

„Capri ist magisch. Ich war schon viele Male dort, mit den Frauen die ich am meisten geliebt habe. Deshalb hat Capri mein Herz wie nirgendwo sonst.“

Gelasio Gaetani d’Aragona, winemaker and writer

Capri Dolce Vita, wirft einen Blick auf diese sagenumwobene Ecke der Welt. Durch die Jahrhunderte hinweg ein wahres Paradies auf Erden.

Herausgeber : Cesare Cunaccia & Assouline
Erscheinungsdatum: Mai 2019
Format: W 9.8 x L 13 x D 1.3 in, 5.6 lb
Eigenschaften: Leinen-Hardcover, 272 Seiten, über 200 Illustrationen
Sprache: English
ISBN: 9781614287834

Capri Dolce Vita by Assouline

Über den Autor

Cesare Cunaccia ist Schriftsteller, Dozent, Kurator und Journalist. Er war Chefredakteur für Vogue Italia und L’Uomo Vogue sowie Antiquitätenberater für Architectural Digest Italien. Ebenfalls arbeitete er für die Abteilungen von Architectural Digest in Deutschland, China und Russland sowie für Connaissance des Arts, Opera magazine und L’Oeil gearbeitet.

Cunaccia veröffentlichte eine Vielzahl von Büchern, insbesondere über das italienische Kunsterbe, welche in zwölf Sprachen übersetzt wurden.

Über Assouline

Der illustrierte Markt ist zu einem integralen Bestandteil der Welten von Luxus, Mode und Design geworden. Assouline hat aktiv zu diesem Wachstum beigetragen, indem es hochwertigste Buchobjekte geschaffen hat, deren unverwechselbare grafische Identität und redaktionelles Savoir-faire die Fantasie beflügelt haben und neue Themen auf zeitgemäße Weise ansprechen.

Die Marke ist mit ihrem Stil und ihrer Vision ein echter Pionier. Ab Mitte der 90er Jahre brachte Assouline den Bildbandmarkt mit Produkten zum Leben, die modern, luxuriös und kreativ waren.

„Wir haben dieses Unternehmen gegründet, um die erste Luxusmarke für Kultur zu sein. Wir lieben und glauben an Bücher mehr als an alles andere und deshalb wollten wir alles für eine zeitgenössische Bibliothek liefern.“

erzählen Prosper & Martine Assouline

Heutzutage ist der Luxus-Buchmarkt ein unverzichtbares Werkzeug für Luxusmarken geworden. Aufgrund der geringeren Sichtbarkeit in Printpublikationen, deren Verbreitung dramatisch gesunken ist. Aufgrund des Aufstiegs digitaler Medien und „Influencern“, brauchen Luxusmarken ein „greifbares“ Produkt um ihre DNA zu definieren und sich auf dem Markt zu positionieren. Dies stellt eine Gelegenheit für Marken dar, ihr Erbe zu sichern, ihren Stil zu definieren und ihre Kreationen für ihre internationale Kundschaft sowie die Geschäftswelt zum Leben zu erwecken.

„Unsere digitale Welt wächst schneller denn je und nichts bleibt von ihr übrig, aber Bücher sind der feste Bestandteil unserer Vergangenheit und Gegenwart. Sie sind auch Schönheit. Für uns sind Bücher eine Sache von Intellekt und Emotion, von Erbe und Innovation.“

so Prosper & Martine Assouline

Jenseits schöner Bücher investiert Assouline in die Förderung der Kultur. Es hat die „erste Marke der Luxuskultur“ geschaffen, indem es Boutiquen eröffnet hat, in denen man eine Welt des guten Geschmacks, der Spannung und des Intellekts entdecken kann. Ein Ort, an dem Kultur in einer luxuriösen Umgebung erworben werden kann.

Erworben werden können Büchersammlungen, aber auch Objekte, die in zeitgenössische Bibliotheken gehören, wie Duftkerzen und „Kuriositätenkabinette.“

More about Assouline >> online

Text & Photos by Assouline