AKIRA: Japanese dining experience by Shimizu Akira // FOOD

Akira

The Japanese restaurant, AKIRA, is on the first floor of Japan House London in Kensington. Named after Chef Shimizu Akira, the restaurant presents a Japanese dining experience based on Akira’s ‘trinity of cooking’ principles – food, tableware and presentation.

Shimizu Akira – a Japanese Chef

Akira’s journey to becoming a chef started at the age of 15 when he was inspired by a regional speciality dish of charcoal-grilled chicken in Miyazaki on Japan’s southern island of Kyushu. Inspired by famous chefs and largely self-taught, Akira honed his skills with an emphasis on chicken dishes.

In 2002, Akira joined the Salt Group and went on to open their first restaurant outside of Japan at the Ham Yard Hotel in Soho, in February 2015. That same year, Akira relocated to London, opening PEN YEN under the Soho House Group. Recent endeavours include a popup ramen noodle bar as part of the exhibition of the sets from Wes Anderson’s film ‘Isle of Dogs’ and notable UK engagements such as a one-off luncheon with the Japanese Ambassador and VIP guests at the Japanese Ambassador’s residence.

Executive Chef AKIRA

Shimizu Akira is the Executive Chef and Director of AKIRA at Japan House London.

Akira robatayaki and sushi restaurant

An adventurous undertaking, Japan House London’s first floor welcomes guests to a new restaurant bearing the name of Japanese chef Akira. Offering an immersive encounter with Japan’s food culture based on Akira’s trinity of cooking principles: food, tableware, and presentation, guests are offered a variety of unique charcoal-grilled dishes and sushi from a menu created by Akira himself.

“Akira will be an innovative Japanese restaurant like no other ever-before-seen in London”

says Shimizu Akira

Experience Japanesestyle omotenashi hospitality and the theatre of cooking as chefs prepare dishes using seasonal ingredients reflecting Japan’s surprisingly diverse food offer. Highlights of the menu include imaginative sushi and chargrilled kushiyaki skewers.

Special dishes for London

Akira moved from London to Tokyo in summer 2017 and has been working on a range of dishes especially for London. These include for example Chicken, wasabi & cheese kushiyaki skewer with soy sauce glaze, a Sea urchin with salmon and tuna egg crepe roll with truffle cream sauce or Botan prawn with ponzu jelly.

Akira has also created a range of desserts featuring matcha green tea, including Akira tiramisu and matcha chocolate fondant.

Some of Akira’s most popular dishes from his restaurant in Tokyo’s hip Naka-Meguro district will also make it onto his London menu.

Tableware and presentation like never seen before

The dining experience will be complemented by serving dishes Akira has designed and created in collaboration with artisans across Japan and drinks in fine Japanese glassware. Guests will also be able to enjoy original cocktails made using Japanese ingredients including rare sake, yuzu and shiso.

Restaurant design by Katayama Masamichi, Principal of Wonderwall

In the restaurant, the Japan House London interior designer, Katayama Masamichi has incorporated his interpretation of a specifically Japanese sense of place and home – the concept of the doma. The doma is a space that sits between indoors and outdoors in a Japanese house and has various purposes. Part kitchen, it is also a social space where family, friends and neighbours gather together.

More about Japan House London >> online

AKIRA: Japanisches Kulinarik Erlebnis by Shimizu Akira // FOOD

Akira

Das japanische Restaurant AKIRA befindet sich im ersten Stock des Japan House London in Kensington. Das nach Chefkoch Shimizu Akira benannte Restaurant bietet ein japanisches Kulinarik Erlebnis, das auf Akiras Prinzipien der „Dreiheit des Kochens“ basiert – Essen, Geschirr und Präsentation.

Shimizu Akira – ein japanischer Koch

Akiras Reise zum Koch begann im Alter von 15 Jahren, als er sich von einem regionalen Spezialgericht mit Hühnchen vom Holzkohlegrill in Miyazaki auf Japans südlicher Insel Kyushu inspirieren ließ. Inspiriert von berühmten Köchen, verfeinerte Akira seine Fähigkeiten mit einem Schwerpunkt auf Hühnergerichte.

Im Jahr 2002 trat Akira der Salt Group bei und eröffnete im Februar 2015 ihr erstes Restaurant außerhalb Japans im Ham Yard Hotel in Soho. Im selben Jahr zog Akira nach London und eröffnete PEN YEN unter der Soho House Group. Zu den jüngsten Bemühungen gehören eine Pop-up-Ramen-Nudelbar, als Teil der Ausstellung der Sets aus Wes Andersons Film ‚Isle of Dogs‚ sowie bemerkenswerte Engagements in Großbritannien, wie ein einmaliges Mittagessen mit dem japanischen Botschafter und VIP-Gästen in der Residenz des japanischen Botschafters .

Executive Chef AKIRA

Shimizu Akira ist Executive Chef und Direktor von AKIRA im Japan House London.

Akira – Robatayaki und Sushi Restaurant

Das Japan House London im ersten Stock ist ein abenteuerliches Unterfangen und heißt seine Gäste in einem neuen Restaurant willkommen, das den Namen des japanischen Küchenchefs Akira trägt. Die Gäste bieten eine eindringliche Begegnung mit Japans Esskultur, basierend auf Akiras drei Prinzipien des Kochens:

Essen, Geschirr und Präsentation.

Gäste erwarten eine Vielzahl einzigartiger Gerichte und Sushi vom Holzkohlegrill aus einem von Akira selbst kreierten Menü.

“Akira wird ein innovatives japanisches Restaurant sein wie kein anderes in London”

– Shimizu Akira

OmotenashiGastfreundschaft im japanischen Stil, während Köche Gerichte mit saisonalen Zutaten zubereiten, welche Japans überraschend vielfältige Esskultur widerspiegeln. Zu den Highlights der Speisekarte zählen einfallsreiches Sushi und gegrillte Kushiyaki-Spieße.

Spezialgerichte für London

Akira ist im Sommer 2017 von London nach Tokio gezogen und hat an einer Reihe von Gerichten speziell für London gearbeitet. Dazu gehören beispielsweise Hühnchen-, Wasabi-Käse-Kushiyaki-Spieß mit Sojasaucenglasur, ein Seeigel mit Lachs-Thunfisch-Eier-Crêpe-Brötchen mit Trüffel-Sahne-Sauce oder Botan-Garnelen mit Ponzu-Gelee.

Akira hat auch eine Reihe von Desserts mit Matcha-Grüntee kreiert, darunter Akira Tiramisu und Matcha-Schokoladenfondant.

Einige der beliebtesten Gerichte von Akira aus seinem Restaurant in Tokios angesagtem Stadtteil NakaMeguro werden es auch auf seine Londoner Speisekarte schaffen.

Geschirr und Präsentation wie nie zuvor gesehen

Das kulinarische Erlebnis wird durch das Servieren von Gerichten ergänzt, die Akira in Zusammenarbeit mit Handwerkern in ganz Japan entworfen und kreiert hat, sowie durch Getränke in feinen japanischen Glaswaren. Gäste können auch originelle Cocktails genießen, die aus japanischen Zutaten wie seltenem Sake, Yuzu und Shiso hergestellt wurden.

Restaurantdesign von Katayama Masamichi

Im Restaurant hat der Innenarchitekt des Japan House London, Katayama Masamichi, seine Interpretation eines spezifisch japanischen Sinns für Ort und Heimat aufgenommen – das Konzept der Doma. Die Doma ist ein Raum zwischen drinnen und draußen in einem japanischen Haus und hat verschiedene Zwecke. Teil der Küche, ist es auch ein sozialer Raum, in dem sich Familie, Freunde und Nachbarn versammeln.

Mehr über Japan House London >> online