Interview Christian Mikunda: the ultimate temptation

“HYPNOÄSTHETIK. DIE ULTIMATIVE VERFÜHRUNG IN MARKETING, HANDEL UND ARCHITEKTUR” By Christian Mikunda. Published by Econ Verlag, 2018.

Christian Mikunda is a pioneer of the experience economy and one of the thinkers behind strategy dramaturgy. He has travelled the world for many years looking for inspirational “staged places”. Working for businesses, he practises the art of temptation.


Interview by Nina Prehofer

Mr Mikunda, your latest book is all about hypnoaesthetics. What is hypnoaesthetics?

Christian Mikunda: Hypnoaesthetics is a highly intense form of staging that is used in fields such as marketing, retail and the hotel trade and of which you are not consciously aware.

It is not about obvious staging, but instead largely uses psychological mechanisms such as those employed by psychotherapists.

Unlike conventional storytelling or feelings of elation, which I describe in another book, hypnoaesthetics gets right under your skin because you do not even notice its existence. Like hypnosis, it is suggestive.

What are the various mechanisms?

Christian Mikunda: There are four mechanisms: art priming, the method of the staged experience; destabilisation, the method of controlled confusion; hypnoaesthetic trance, the method of absorbed consciousness; and attunement, the method of thrilling consonance.

All mechanisms affect the subconscious and make us aware of a product.

Could you give us some examples?

Christian Mikunda:

DESTABILISATION

To put it briefly, artist Conchita Wurst is an example of destabilisation. We don’t know whether we are looking at a man or a woman – and that confusion makes us hyper-aware and very receptive to what she says. That is why her messages have been so well received.

Another example, in retail, is the Zara dummies with their eyelashes out of place. This is like cold water to the face, opens us up inside and prepares us for the messages that follow. In this case, for the three dummies in the entrance that restore our equilibrium. We have a powerful need for harmony; that is why something like that works.

Photo: Mikunda

HYPNOAESTHETIC

The “Rote Salon” at Casinos Austria in Vienna is an example of a hypnoaesthetic trance. The walls and ceilings are the most intense red you have ever seen, and the patterned carpet does the rest, simply sucking away your control.

Photo: Casinos Austria

ATTUNEMENT

To give you an example of attunement: if you are looking for cool trainers, you certainly won’t want someone like me coming up to you in the shop. Instead, you want someone who represents that lifestyle. Someone which whom you are in tune.

ART PRIMING

Finally, art priming presents the assumptions underlying the product instead of the product itself. Enter the Fendi stores in Rome or Paris and you will find them full of art. There are sculptures in the entranceway that encourage you to see the Fendi coat as art too. The sculpture turns the clothing into the same piece of art.

“HYPNOÄSTHETIK.
DIE ULTIMATIVE VERFÜHRUNG
IN MARKETING, HANDEL UND ARCHITEKTUR”
By Christian Mikunda.
Published by
Econ Verlag, 2018.

What does this have to do with the hotel trade?

Christian Mikunda: Art priming in particular has in recent years spread from retail to the hotel industry. We saw it for the first time in Las Vegas, in the Cosmopolitan Hotel. The hotel is full of modern art, but not like at an exhibition. There are huge dog sculptures on the way to the conference room, an oversized high-heeled shoe beside a one-armed bandit – that people try to climb into as security tries to stop them. For five dollars, visitors can get artworks from a renowned Jamaican artist out of a vending machine. The Cosmopolitan was the first to say that art is not an accessory, but shows guests that they have a very special view of the world. This approach has now taken off around the world.

How many components do you need?

Christian Mikunda: In drama, it works like this: once has no effect, two might have some effect, and the third time sinks in. Actually, you really need at least five interventions for it to work.

What does art priming do to us?

Christian Mikunda: Suddenly, we act as if we were somewhere else – in a hotel as if in a gallery; in a museum as if in a shop, and so on. This draws us deeper and deeper into the other world and the staging loses its banality. A hotel is no longer simply a hotel. Art priming often involves trance effects, which are a result of mesmerising repetition. Trance effects are created by mysterious objects that hold your gaze, and for a while, you notice nothing else.

Is there a point where you reach overkill?

Christian Mikunda: No, even calculated sensory overload works. Guests use the effect for their own purposes – that is the Instagram moment. In the face of a strong digital presence, every effort is being made to make real places stronger. This means bringing out the heavy – hypnoaesthetic – artillery.

How long does the effect last?

Christian Mikunda: Much conventional staging such as that created by linear storytelling unfortunately ages relatively rapidly. The difference between art priming and all other types of staging is that art priming is timeless and iconic. Just as the Karlskirche church in Vienna is timeless. The Delano Hotel by Philippe Starck once played with the perception of shape with cascading curtains, and the Cosmopolitan Hotel later did so too with eight large pillars in the lobby showing video installations. Even in baroque churches, pillars were in part painted, in part physical structures. A form of entertainment was to stand in a specific place to see whether or not the pillars were real. Or take the Jesuitenkirche church in Vienna with its trompe-l’oeil. There is really not that much difference between that church and a hotel like the Cosmopolitan.

Who is the master of the art priming effect?

Christian Mikunda: I would say Kit Kemp. She now has eight hotels in London and New York. The Ham Yard Hotel in London is a breathtakingly feminine 5-star art priming hotel.

Do you always need five stars?

Christian Mikunda: No, of course not! My family and I are in love with one small, beautiful hotel in Greece where we go on holiday. Wonderfully relaxed, heart-warming and with a fantastic garden.

Then there is the hotel in Germany where a third of the staff have a handicap, in most cases Down syndrome. It is emotional cohesion that creates such
a wonderful effect. I see attunement in such a setting. It works a bit like social mimicry. People like themselves, so they open up to each other, and that creates closeness.

In Austria, I really like the Hollmann Beletage – the Sacher too, which may be a 5-star hotel, but I just feel very comfortable and well cared-for there.

What is next on the horizon?

Christian Mikunda: I believe that we are at the end of the experience economy. The dramatic quality that has been achieved since the 1980s is simply breathtaking, but palatial hotels are now out.

If I had to give a prediction, it would be the growing importance of “natur priming” – our climate crisis alone offers sufficient grounds. Nature priming makes us indifferent to the overly negative in the world and generates resilience. We are better able to deal with heat, noise, overcrowding, rising prices and unpleasant smells if we have been primed through nature. Gardens, tree-lined avenues or green façades can all be used for priming. This development will probably go handin-hand with increasingly feminine hotel aesthetics.

In a world where so much is staged, is there not a longing for the exact opposite?

Christian Mikunda: Yes, the pressure on people has become huge. And by pressure, I also mean the pressure for information and entertainment. We need places to chill. But of course, they are also staged.

What is the most important aspect of any staging?

Christian Mikunda: Treating people well should in my view be a constant. That is one of the secretes of staging in business: you need to like people. A hotel is above all a place of welcome, and needs a little bit of oriental hospitality.


DR. PHIL. CHRISTIAN MIKUNDA and his wife Mag. Denise Mikunda-Schulz run CommEnt, which advises the automotive industry, retail, television stations, museums, airports, the hotel industry and entire towns and regions. At the centre of their work is “shop dramaturgy”, which they see not as tempting people to buy but rather as the chance at a small, calculable piece of happiness.

mikunda.com

Interview Christian Mikunda: die ultimative verführung

“HYPNOÄSTHETIK. DIE ULTIMATIVE VERFÜHRUNG IN MARKETING, HANDEL UND ARCHITEKTUR” By Christian Mikunda. Published by Econ Verlag, 2018.

Christian Mikunda gilt als Vordenker der Erlebniswirtschaft und Begründer der Strategischen Dramaturgie. Seit vielen Jahren bereist er die Welt auf der Suche nach inszenierten Orten, die ihn beeindrucken. Für Unternehmen übt er sich in der Kunst der Verführung.


Interview by Nina Prehofer

Herr Mikunda, Ihr neuestes Buch widmet sich der Hypnoästhetik. Was ist das?

Christian Mikunda: Hypnoästhetik ist eine extrem intensive Inszenierungsart, unter anderem für Marketing, Handel oder Hotellerie, die man nicht mehr bewusst nachvollziehen kann.

Sie inszeniert nicht vordergründig und geht im Wesentlichen zurück auf psychologische Mechanismen, wie sie auch Psychotherapeuten anwenden.

Hypnoästhetik geht anders als normales Storytelling oder die von mir in einem anderen Buch beschriebenen Hochgefühle direkt unter die Haut, weil man nicht merkt, dass sie überhaupt da ist. Sie ist suggestiv wie eine Hypnose.

Welche Mechanismen gibt es?

Christian Mikunda: Es gibt vier Mechanismen: Art Priming, die Methode des vorinszenierten Erlebnisses, Destabilization, die Methode der kontrollierten Verwirrung, Hypnoästhetische Trance, die Methode des absorbierten Bewusstseins, und Attunement, die Methode des mitreißenden Gleichklangs.

Bei allen Mechanismen wird man unterbewusst geprägt und sensibel für ein Produkt gemacht.

Können Sie uns Beispiele nennen?

Christian Mikunda:

DESTABILIZATION

Ganz schnell gesagt, ist die Künstlerin Conchita Wurst ein Beispiel fü Destabilization. Man weiß nicht, ob man einen Mann oder eine Frau sieht – und diese Verwirrung macht uns hypersensibel und sehr empfänglich für das, was sie sagt. Deswegen sind ihre Botschaften auch so gut angekommen.

Oder im Retail die Schaufensterpuppen mit dem verrutschten Wimpernkranz bei Zara. Das ist wie ein kalter Spritzer Wasser im Gesicht, der einen seelisch öffnet und aufnahmebereit macht für die Botschaften, die kommen. In dem Fall für die drei Puppen im Eingangsbereich, die einem Halt geben. Wir sind unglaublich harmoniebedürftig, deswegen funktioniert so etwas.

Fotos: Mikunda

HYPNOAESTHETIC

Der Rote Salon der Casinos Austria in Wien ist ein Beispiel für Hypnoästhetische Trance. Wände und Decken leuchten im intensivsten Rot, das man je gesehen hat, der gemusterte Teppich tut sein Übriges und saugt einem geradezu die Kontrolle weg.

Foto: Casinos Austria

ATTUNEMENT

Ein Beispiel für Attunement: Wenn Sie coole Sneaker kaufen wollen, dann möchten Sie sicher nicht, dass ich Ihnen im Laden entgegenkomme, sondern jemand, der diesen Lifestyle repräsentiert. Mit dem Sie im Gleichklang schwingen können.

ART PRIMING

Art Priming zu guter Letzt inszeniert nicht das Produkt, sondern die Prämissen des Produkts. Wenn man Fendi in Rom oder Paris betritt, so sind die Geschäfte voll mit Kunst. Da stehen Skulpturen im Eingangsbereich, die dir beibringen, den Fendi-Mantel genauso als Kunstwerk zu sehen. Die Skulptur macht das Kleidungsstück zum gleichen „piece of art“.

“HYPNOÄSTHETIK.
DIE ULTIMATIVE VERFÜHRUNG
IN MARKETING, HANDEL UND ARCHITEKTUR”
Von Christian Mikunda.
Erschienen im
Econ Verlag, 2018.

Was hat das alles mit der Hotellerie zu tun?

Christian Mikunda: Vor allem Art Priming ist in den letzten Jahren vom Retail-Bereich in die Hotellerie gerutscht. Wir haben es das erste Mal in Las Vegas registriert, im Cosmopolitan Hotel. Das ist voll mit Modern Art, aber nicht wie in einer Kunstausstellung. Da stehen riesige Hundeskulpturen auf dem Weg zum Kongresszentrum, es gibt einen übergroßen Stöckelschuh neben einem einarmigen Banditen, in den die Menschen versuchen, sich hineinzulegen und die Security versucht, es zu verhindern. Aus einem Automaten kann man sich um fünf Dollar Kunstwerke von einem renommierten jamaikanischen Künstler rausdrücken. Das waren die Ersten, die gesagt haben: Die Kunst ist kein Beiwerk, sondern zeigt unseren Gästen, dass wir einen ganz besonderen Blick auf die Welt haben. Dann ist es weltweit explodiert.

Ab wie vielen Elementen funktioniert der Effekt?

Christian Mikunda: In der Dramaturgie ist es so: Einmal ist keinmal, zweimal könnte es was sein, ab dem dritten Mal greift es. Aber eigentlich muss es mindestens fünf Interventionen geben, damit es funktioniert.

Was macht Art Priming mit mir?

Christian Mikunda: Man verhält sich ganz plötzlich, als wäre man an einem anderen Ort. In einem Hotel wie in einer Galerie, in einem Museum wie in einem Shop usw. Dadurch versinkt man noch intensiver in der anderen Welt und es nimmt der Inszenierung die Banalität. Das Hotel ist damit nicht nur Hotel. Oft wird Art Priming mit Trance-Effekten verbunden, die durch einlullende Wiederholung entstehen. Trance entsteht durch mysteriöse Dinge, die deinen Blick so bannen, dass du eine Zeit lang nichts anderes wahrnimmst.

Gibt es einen Moment des Overkills?

Christian Mikunda: Nein, auch kalkulierte Reizüberflutung funktioniert. Dann wird der Effekt von den Gästen für ihre Interessen genutzt, das ist der Instagram-Moment. Aufgrund starker digitaler Präsenz versucht man ja, echte Orte noch stärker zu machen. Es werden schwere, hypnoästhetische Geschütze aufgefahren.

Wie lange halten die Effekte?

Christian Mikunda: Viele klassische Inszenierungen, wie durch lineares Storytelling, altern leider relativ schnell. Der Unterschied zwischen Art Priming und allen anderen inszenierten Formen besteht darin, dass Art Priming nicht altert, sondern ikonisch wird. So wie auch die Karlskirche in Wien nicht altert. Schon im Delano Hotel von Philippe Starck wurde mit der Wahrnehmung in Form der wehenden Vorhänge gespielt, später im Cosmopolitan Hotel anhand von acht großen Säulen in der Lobby, die mit Videoinstallationen bespielt werden. Bereits in barocken Kirchen waren die Säulen zum Teil gemalt, zum Teil gebaut. Das Entertainment hat darin bestanden, dich an einer bestimmten Stelle hinzustellen und zu schauen, ob die Säulen echt sind oder nicht. Oder die Jesuitenkirche mit ihrer Scheinmalerei in Wien. Da ist nicht so viel Unterschied zwischen dieser Kirche und einem Hotel wie dem Cosmopolitan.

Wer beherrscht den Art-Priming-Effekt am besten?

Christian Mikunda: Ich würde sagen, das ist Kit Kemp. Sie hat mittlerweile acht Hotels in London und New York. Das Ham Yard Hotel in London ist ein atemberaubend weibliches 5-Sterne-Art-Priming-Hotel.

Müssen es immer fünf Sterne sein für Sie?

Christian Mikunda: Nein, natürlich nicht! Meine Familie und ich lieben ein kleines, sehr feines Hotel in Griechenland, in dem wir Urlaub machen. Herrlich unaufgeregt, heart warming und mit einem fantastischen Garten.

Dann gibt es ein Hotel in Deutschland, in dem ein Drittel der Mitarbeiter ein Handicap hat. Die meisten davon haben das Down-Syndrom. Der unglaubliche Effekt ist der emotionale Zusammenhalt, der entsteht. Hier würde ich den Effekt des Attunement sehen. Das funktioniert ein bisschen wie social mimicry. Man mag sich, also öffnet man sich zueinander und es kann Nähe entstehen.

In Österreich mag ich das Hollmann Beletage wirklich sehr. Aber auch das Sacher, das ist jetzt zwar ein 5-Sterne-Hotel, aber dort fühle ich mich einfach besonders gut aufgehoben.

Was kommt als Nächstes?

Christian Mikunda: Ich denke, dass die Experience Economy, also die Erlebniswirtschaft, durch ist. Das, was seit den 80er-Jahren an Inszenierungsqualität passiert ist, ist atemberaubend. Aber Palasthotels sind out.

Wenn ich etwas prophezeien müsste, würde ich sagen, „nature priming“ wird ganz wichtig werden. Allein schon wegen unserer Klimakrise. Priming durch Natur macht uns gleichgültig gegen allzu Negatives in der Welt, es erzeugt Resilienz. Wir können besser mit Hitze, Lärm, Überfüllung, Teuerung oder Gestank umgehen, wenn eine Vorinszenierung in Form von Natur stattfindet. Das können Vorgärten, Baumalleen oder begrünte Fassaden sein. Damit geht wahrscheinlich auch einher, dass Hotels weiblicher werden in ihrer gesamten Ästhetik.

In einer Welt, in der bereits so viel inszeniert ist, gibt es da keine Sehnsucht nach dem genauen Gegenteil?

Christian Mikunda: Ja, der Druck auf den Schultern der Menschen ist sehr groß geworden. Damit meine ich auch den Informations- und Entertainment-Druck. Da braucht es „Chill“-Orte, die uns runterbringen. Aber auch das ist natürlich inszeniert.

Was ist bei aller Inszenierung das Entscheidendste?

Christian Mikunda: Ich finde, man sollte die Menschen immer gut behandeln. Das ist eines der Geheimnisse der inszenierten Wirtschaft, man muss die Menschen gernhaben. Ein Hotel ist vor allem ein Hospitality-Ort, und da braucht es schon ein bisschen orientalische Gastlichkeit.


DR. PHIL. CHRISTIAN MIKUNDA berät gemeinsam mit seiner Frau Mag. Denise Mikunda-Schulz in der gemeinsamen Firma CommEnt die Automobilindustrie und den Einzelhandel, Fernsehsender, Museen und Flughäfen, die Hotellerie und ganze Städte oder Regionen. Im Kern ihrer Arbeit steht die Laden-dramaturgie, die sie nicht als Verführung zum Kauf sehen, sondern als Möglichkeit für ein kleines, kalkulierbares Glück.

mikunda.com