feel-good design

Tiziano Vudafieri & Claudio Saverino, Foto: Nathalie Krag Tiziano Vudafieri & Claudio Saverino, Photo: Nathalie Krag

Interview by Nina Prehofer

The Milan-based architects Tiziano Vudafieri and Claudio Saverino design places that make people “feel good”.

They talk to THE Stylemate about how to transform a brand into an interior and why food may even taste better in a nice restaurant.

Peck – considered the temple of Italian gastronomy – has just opened a new venue in Milan. It is located in a 300 m2 organically-shaped pavilion. What difference does it make when walls are “round” and not straight?

Tiziano Vudafieri: The round walls introduce a fluid space, a more harmonious relationship between spaces and people. This obviously requires a greater level of technical complexity both in the design and in realization. We always design in relation to the context and to the needs of each place; every project is the result of these elements.

How did you transform the brand into design?

Claudio Saverino: Peck is a classic Milanese establishment that has been open since 1883. We designed a place that combines all its distinctive features: delicatessen, restaurant, wine bar and cocktail bar. The most important part of our work was to create an environment rich in symbolic elements, capable of expressing the fundamental features of Peck’s historical identity and at the same time of reconciling it with a more contemporary dimension. The new Peck is in fact located in the most contemporary district of Milan, under the skyscrapers of the CityLife Shopping District. At the same time, we wanted the project to communicate the strong link between Peck and the city of Milan, in which the legend of Peck established itself.

Tiziano Vudafieri: For this reason, we chose materials and solutions that represent a subliminal homage to this strong relationship. The flooring is reminiscent of traditional Milanese stone, the Ceppo di Gré from the quarries of Lake Iseo; the restaurant’s false ceiling, with wooden panelling, recalls Villa Necchi Campiglio by the great Milanese architect Piero Portaluppi; the struts that hold up the shelves are evocative of BBPR’s Velasca Tower.

Photos: Restaurant Peck City Life, Milano_photocourtesyPeck

How did the theme of “delicatessen eating” influence your design?

Claudio Saverino: The theme of delicatessen eating had a central role in the project and is a distinctive feature of Peck CityLife. The folding tables by the counter, designed to the millimetre to be able to open and close, multiply the seating options and offer an alternative to a table in the restaurant. Eating at the counter is a completely different experience: it strengthens the relationship between food and people, between selection and tasting, and between preparation and consumption.

What are the fundamental points to consider when designing a restaurant?

Tiziano Vudafieri: We believe that design complements the food. The Italian entrepreneur and racing driver Enzo Ferrari claimed that a nice car runs faster; perhaps the same thing can be said of a restaurant? Our relationship with food has to do with the senses and with our willingness to be surprised. The interior design has exactly this task: to favour as harmonic as possible a relationship between the people and the place so as to prepare them to approach the food in the best possible way.

We believe that every project
represents someone or something and
tells a story.

Which trend can you identify right now?

Claudio Saverino: In the first period of globalisation, brands and projects tended to repeat concepts that were always the same, wherever they were in the world. Now, there is instead a need to differentiate while maintaining continuity in the narrative. For this reason, we design, for the same brand, places that are very different but share the same level of identity.

How do you seek inspiration?

Tiziano Vudafieri: We believe that every project represents someone or something and tells a story, and for this reason, the architecture or the interior design must be consistent with this narrative. In line with the kind of project, we seek inspiration in the brand history, values and tradition and by observing the place, its previous incarnations and its memories.

How would you describe the way you work?

Claudio Saverino: We design places to live in, with the goal of putting the client, or whoever will use them, at ease. The projects must make people “feel good” because the inhabitant is the main subject and empathy with the place is the most important part of every project. Through architecture and interior design, we create and condition relationships between people. A project must therefore be a form of story-telling, but start by listening to stories.


VUDAFIERI SAVERINO PARTNERS is a design firm specialised in architectural and corporate design projects and based in Milan and Shanghai. It is run by partners CLAUDIO SAVERINO and TIZIANO VUDAFIERI and their approach is based on both architectural culture and sensitivity to current trends in design, fashion and art, dialectically and transversally leveraging their experience and knowledge in these sectors. Since 2000, a significant part of the firm’s activity has been devoted to retail design projects for luxury prêt-à-porter brands such as Louis Vuitton, Lanvin, Jimmy Choo among many others.

story telling

Tiziano Vudafieri & Claudio Saverino, Foto: Nathalie Krag Tiziano Vudafieri & Claudio Saverino, Foto: Nathalie Krag

Text by Nina Prehofer

Die Mailänder Architekten Tiziano Vudafieri und Claudio Saverino entwerfen Orte an denen sich die Menschen wohlfühlen.

Mit THE Stylemate sprechen sie darüber, wie man eine Marke in ein Interieur verwandelt und warum in einem schönen Restaurant das Essen vielleicht sogar noch besser schmeckt.

Der traditionsreiche Feinkosthändler „Peck“, der als Tempel der italienischen Gastronomie gilt, hat gerade in Mailand eine neue, von Ihnen gestaltete Dependance eröffnet. Diese befindet sich in einem 300 m² großen organisch geformten Pavillon. Mögen Sie Ihre Wände lieber rund oder eckig?

Tiziano Vudafieri: Durch die runden Wände entsteht ein fließender Raum und damit ein harmonischere Beziehung zwischen Räumen und Menschen. Dies erfordert einen höheren technischen Aufwand sowohl bei der Konstruktion als auch bei der Realisierung. Wir entwerfen immer in Bezug auf den Kontext und auf di Bedürfnisse des Ortes. Jedes Projekt ist das Ergebnis dieser Elemente, wir finden jede Aufgabe spannend.

Wie haben Sie die Marke ins Design umgesetzt?

Claudio Saverino: Peck ist eine Mailänder Institution, die seit 1883 geöffnet ist. Wir haben einen Ort entworfen, der all die Besonderheiten vereint: Feinkost, Restaurant, Weinbar und Cocktailbar. Der wichtigste Teil unserer Arbeit bestand darin, eine Umgebung mit symbolischen Elementen zu schaffen, die in der Lage ist, die grundlegenden Merkmale der historischen Identität von Peck zum Ausdruck und sie gleichzeitig mit einer zeitgenössischeren Dimension in Einklang zu bringen. Der neue Peck befindet sich im modernsten Viertel von Mailand, unter den Wolkenkratzern des CityLife Shopping District. Zugleich wollten wir die starke Verbindung von Peck und der Stadt Mailand vermitteln, in der Peck zur Institution wurde.

Tiziano Vudafieri: Aus diesem Grund haben wir Materialien und Lösungen ausgewählt, die eine unterschwellige Hommage an diese starke Beziehung darstellen. Der Boden erinnert an den historischen Mailänder Stein, den Ceppo di Gré aus den Steinbrüchen des Iseo-Sees; die Zwischendecke des Restaurants mit Holzverkleidung erinnert an die Villa Necchi Campiglio des berühmten Mailänder Architekten Piero Portaluppi. Die Streben, die die Regale halten, erinnern an den Velasca-Turm des BBPR.

Fotos: Restaurant Peck City Life, Milano_photocourtesyPeck

Wie hat das Thema „Delikatessen essen“ Ihr Design beeinflusst?

Claudio Saverino: Das Thema „Delikatessen essen“ spielte eine zentrale Rolle im Projekt und ist ein charakteristisches Merkmal von Peck CityLife. Die Klapptische an der Theke, die sich millimetergenau öffnen und schließen lassen, multiplizieren die Sitze und bieten eine Alternative zu einem Tisch im Restaurant. Essen an der Theke ist eine völlig andere Erfahrung: Es stärkt die Beziehung zwischen Essen und Menschen, zwischen Auswahl und Geschmack, zwischen Zubereitung und Verzehr.

Was muss man bei der Gestaltung eines Restaurants immer beachten?

Tiziano Vudafieri: Wir glauben, dass Design das Essen ergänzt. Der italienische Unternehmer und Rennfahrer Enzo Ferrari behauptete, ein schönes Auto fährt schneller – vielleicht kann man das auch von einem Restaurant sagen? Die Beziehung zum Essen hat mit den Sinnen zu tun und mit unserer Bereitschaft, überrascht zu werden. Das Interior Design hat genau diese Aufgabe: eine möglichst harmonische Beziehung zwischen den Menschen und dem Ort zu fördern, um sie darauf vorzubereiten, dem Essen bestmöglich zu begegnen.

Wir glauben, dass jedes Projekt jemanden oder etwas repräsentiert und eine Geschichte erzählt.

Welchen Trend können Sie im Moment festmachen?

Claudio Saverino: In der ersten Zeit der Globalisierung tendierten Marken dazu, ihre Konzepte überall auf der Welt in gleicher Weise zu wiederholen. Heute muss differenziert werden, währenddessen die Erzählung fortbesteht. Aus diesem Grund entwerfen wir für die gleiche Marke sehr unterschiedliche Orte, aber die gleiche Identität.

Wie finden Sie Inspiration?

Tiziano Vudafieri: Wir glauben, dass jedes Projekt jemanden oder etwas repräsentiert und eine Geschichte erzählt. Aus diesem Grund muss die Architektur oder die Innenarchitektur mit dieser Erzählung übereinstimmen. Je nach Art des Projekts suchen wir Inspiration in der Markengeschichte, den Werten und der Tradition und beobachten den Ort, das aktuelle Geschehen und seine Erinnerungen.

Wie würden Sie Ihren Arbeitsstil beschreiben?

Claudio Saverino: Wir erwecken Orte zum Leben, mit dem Ziel, dass sie den Kunden bzw. den Menschen, die sie besuchen, behagen. Die Menschen sollen sich dort einfach „gut fühlen“, denn sie und ihre Empathie mit dem Ort sind die wichtigste Komponente jedes Projekts. Durch Architektur und Innenarchitektur schaffen und konditionieren wir Beziehungen zwischen Menschen. Das Projekt muss also ein „Storytelling“ sein, aber vom „Storylistening“ ausgehen.


VUDAFIERI SAVERINO PARTNERS ist ein Designbüro, das sich auf Architektur- und Corporate-Design-Projekte in Mailand und Shanghai spezialisiert hat. Es wird von den Partnern CLAUDIO SAVERINO und TIZIANO VUDAFIERI betrieben und basiert auf architektonischer Kultur und Sensibilität für aktuelle Trends in Design, Mode und Kunst, wobei ihre Erfahrungen und ihr Wissen in diesen Bereichen dialektisch und transversal genutzt werden. Seit dem Jahr 2000 widmet das Unternehmen einen bedeutenden Teil seiner Tätigkeit Einzelhandelsdesign-Projekten für Luxusmarken wie Louis Vuitton, Lanvin, Jimmy Choo und viele andere.

vudafierisaverino.it