AUCTION HOUSE “IM KINSKY”: instinct for artistic value

Portrait Elisabeth Skofitsch-Haas Auktionshaus im Kisky

Elisabeth Skofitsch-Haas represents the Viennese auction house “im Kinsky” in southern Austria. In Graz, she successfully combines the traditional and newest forms of art trade.

When did you plunge into the world of art?

Skofitsch-Haas: Relatively early actually, when I visited museums on many trips with my father, who worked in the travel agency sector. And later, in high school, with a drawing teacher who was an artist himself. I didn’t immediately pursue the urge to study history of art, so I studied law for pragmatic reasons, but I also attended art history lectures at the same time and it soon became clear – that was what I wanted to do!

Was it this drive that made you become an expert on paintings from the 19th and 20th century?

After my studies, I was in charge of marketing and general organisation in “im Kinsky“ in Vienna. After 2 years, I transferred to the department of paintings from the 19th and 20th century. Becoming an expert entails a lot of “learning by doing”: looking at a lot of art and developing an instinct for quality.

Auktionshaus im Kinsky Elisabeth Skofitsch-Haas
Auktionshaus im Kinsky

And so, with this instinct for artistic quality up your sleeve, did you then head to Graz?

As I had already managed more and more clients in Styria and Carinthia from the role in Vienna, the idea of a representative office in Graz developed. This was in 2008. We moved into the office in Graz in 2013, and since then I have been able to manage a large circle of clients successfully in the placement and collection of art objects from all eras and sectors.

How are good to very good sales revenues achieved?

We provide objective consultation free of charge. The experts at the Kinsky have worked consistently in the art trade for decades. They are specialists in their areas of expertise, regardless of whether they are dealing with the Old Masters or contemporary art, with paintings from the 19th century or classical modernism, with Art Nouveau or antiques; and they are court-appointed experts almost without exception. We strive to accept only high-quality and high-priced goods. It is often the uniqueness and the rarity which can lead to a sensational price for an object, such as the brilliantly successful sale of the flower painting by Jan Brueghel the Elder at the price of € 2,191,500.00. A chance discovery of an “art treasure” is more than rare.

Do you fulfil any earmarked wishes?

When we offer a certain artist, collectors are naturally specifically advised of one object or another before the auction.

Apropos auctions: Do you feel a personal thrill when great quality meets a mostly anonymous crowd of bidders?

I would recommend attending a large auction to anyone at least once! It can be very exciting. Everything is decided in the space of a few seconds/minutes. There are often bidding wars between written bids, phone bidders, other bidders in the hall, and bids that come in online or through an official broker.

100. Auktion Palais im Kinsky

Could you reveal some market leaders to us?

Paintings of classical modernism and contemporary art occupy the largest market segment. The period around 1900 is one of the most significant eras of Austrian art history, which is also reflected in the collectors’ interest today. Koloman Moser, Egon Schiele or Alfons Walde are guaranteed to attract top prices. In the last few years, a growing interest can also be seen for art after 1920. Frontrunners in Austria are the Carinthian painter Werner Berg and the painter Norbertine Bresslern-Roth from Graz. Avant-garde art after 1945 also led the Top Lots list in 2017: at the top Maria Lassnig, followed by the international star Franz West. The works of the exceptional artist from Carinthia Hans Bischoffshausen could also record new increases and an ongoing interest.

A detour in art sociology: How are the groups of buyers distributed?

Contemporary art is increasingly bought by a young public. The “value” of a contemporary artwork comprises not only of obtained sale prices at auctions, but exhibitions in famous museums, presence at large international art fairs, distinction and reviews in art magazines or purchases by leading museums also flow into its appraisal. Art is more and more regarded as a form of investment, also by private, non-professional collectors. The trend of art as an investment is also expected to grow even further, especially in times of financial insecurity.

Are hotels also clients of yours?

This naturally depends on the hotelier. With the great art collector Dr. Helmut Marko and his hotels fitted with countless works of art, Graz is certainly a – positive – exception.

You started holding private sales only recently. How does the private direct sale develop?

Works of art are usually offered in the pri vate sale from around € 50,000 – to es pecially selected clients. The private sale enables a quick, smooth and discreet settlement! From this year, we have started renting additional spaces on the ground floor in the Palais Kinsky to create a kind of gallery setting for the private sale. Our new Managing Director – Christoph la Garde, a passionate art collector himself – is planning on developing the private sale area even further in the next few years.

Elisabth Skofitsch-Haas Auktionshaus im Kinsky
Elisabth Skofitsch-Haas, Auktionshaus im Kinsky

Is there an overlap with traditional galleries?

“im Kinsky” is regarded as a mediator between art lovers, and connects private collectors, public museums and art dealers. With our auctions, we are the secondary market for art! Artists who are represented in galleries, displayed at fairs and exhibited by curators then find their way into the auction market.

Auktionshaus im Kinsky

www.imkinsky.com

AUKTIONSHAUS „IM KINSKY“: gespür für den kunstwert

Portrait Elisabeth Skofitsch-Haas Auktionshaus im Kisky

Elisabeth Skofitsch-Haas repräsentiert das Wiener Auktionshaus „im Kinsky“ im Süden Österreichs. In Graz kombiniert sie mit großem Erfolg traditionelle und neueste Formen des Kunsthandels.

Wann sind Sie in das Reich der Kunst eingetaucht?

Skofitsch-Haas: Eigentlich schon relativ früh als Kind, als ich mit meinem Vater, der in der Reisebürobranche tätig war, auf vielen Reisen Museen besucht habe. Später im Gymnasium durch einen Zeichenprofessor, der selbst Künstler war. Meinem Drang Kunstgeschichte zu studieren, bin ich zunächst nicht nachgegangen und habe aus Vernunftgründen Jus studiert, parallel aber Kunstgeschichte-Vorlesunge besucht und bald war klar – das ist es!

Mit diesem Schwung wurden Sie dann auch zur Expertin für Gemälde aus dem 19. und 20. Jahrhundert?

Skofitsch-Haas: Gleich nach dem Studium war ich im Kinsky in Wien für das Marketing und die allgemeine Organisation zuständig. Nach zwei Jahren bin ich in die Abteilung für Gemälde des 19. und 20. Jahrhunderts gewechselt. Expertin wird man vor allem durch „learning by doing“: viel Kunst anschauen und ein Gespür für Qualität entwickeln.

Auktionshaus im Kinsky Elisabeth Skofitsch-Haas
Auktionshaus im Kinsky

Mit dem Gespür für die Kunst-Qualität im Gepäck ging es nach Graz?

Skofitsch-Haas: Da ich auch schon von Wien aus immer mehr Kunden in der Steiermark und Kärnten betreut habe, wurde die Idee einer Repräsentanz in Graz geboren. Das war im Jahr 2008. 2013 bezogen wir das Büro in Graz und seitdem darf ich sehr erfolgreich einen großen Kundenkreis bei der Vermittlung und dem Sammeln von Kunstobjekten aller Epochen und Sparten betreuen.

Wie kommen denn gute bis sehr gute Verkaufserlöse zustande?

Skofitsch-Haas: Wir bieten eine kostenlose, objektive Beratung. Die Experten im Kinsky sind durchwegs seit Jahrzehnten im Kunsthandel tätig. Sie sind Spezialisten ihrer Fachgebiete, egal ob es sich um Alte Meister oder Zeitgenössische Kunst, um Gemälde des 19. Jahrhunderts oder Klassische Moderne, um Jugendstil oder Antiquitäten handelt, und sie sind fast ausnahmslos als gerichtlich beeidete Sachverständige tätig. Wir bemühen uns, nur qualitativ hochwertige und hochpreisige Ware anzunehmen. Oft ist es die Einzigartigkeit und Seltenheit, die einen Sensationspreis für ein Objekt entstehen lässt, wie es uns z. B. beim Blumenbild von Jan Brueghel d. Ä. mit einem Verkaufspreis von € 2.191.500, fulminant gelungen ist. Ein zufälliger Fund eines „Kunstschatzes“ ist mehr als selten.

Erfüllen Sie vorgemerkte Wünsche?

Skofitsch-Haas: Wenn wir einen gewissen Künstler anbieten, werden natürlich die Sammler gezielt vor der Auktion auf das eine oder andere Objekt hingewiesen.

Stichwort Auktionen: Ergibt sich daraus ein eigener Thrill, wenn große Qualität auf eine meist anonyme Schar von Bietern trifft?

Skofitsch-Haas: Ich kann nur jedem raten einmal eine große Auktion zu besuchen! Das kann sehr spannend sein. In ein paar Sekunden/ Minuten entscheidet sich alles. Oft gibt es Bietergefechte zwischen schriftlichen Geboten, Telefonbietern, Mitbietern im Saal, es kommen Online-Gebote herein oder über die Sensalin.

100. Auktion Palais im Kinsky

Können Sie uns einige Spitzenreiter verraten?

Skofitsch-Haas: Bilder der Klassischen Moderne und Gegenwartskunst nehmen das größte Marktsegment ein. Die Zeit um 1900 gehört zu den bedeutendsten Epochen der österreichischen Kunstgeschichte, was sich bis heute im Interesse der Sammler widerspiegelt. Koloman Moser, Egon Schiele oder Alfons Walde sind Garanten für Spitzenpreise. Ein wachsendes Interesse ist in den letzten Jahren auch für die Kunst nach 1920 zu erkennen. Spitzenreiter in Österreich sind der Kärntner Maler Werner Berg und die Grazer Malerin Norbertine Bresslern-Roth. Die Avantgarde nach 1945 führte auch 2017 die Liste der Top Lots an: an der Spitze Maria Lassnig, gefolgt vom internationalen Star Franz West. Auch die Werke des aus Kärnten stammenden Ausnahmekünstlers Hans Bischoffshausen konnten neue Steigerungen und ein anhaltendes Interesse verzeichnen.

Ein Abstecher in die Kunstsoziologie: Wie verteilen sich die Käuferschichten?

Skofitsch-Haas: Zeitgenössische Kunst wird verstärkt von einem jungen Publikum gekauft. Der „Wert“ eines zeitgenössischen Kunstwerkes setzt sich nicht nur aus erzielten Verkaufspreisen bei Auktionen zusammen, sondern in die Bewertung fließen auch Ausstellungen in namhaften Museen, Präsenz auf den großen internationalen Kunstmessen, Auszeichnung und Rezensionen in Kunstmagazinen oder Ankäufe führender Museen ein. Kunst wird immer mehr als Anlageform gesehen, auch von privaten, nicht-professionellen Sammlern. Der Trend zur Kunst als Anlage wird voraussichtlich auch weiter wachsen, vor allem in Zeiten finanzieller Unsicherheit.

Zählen auch Hotels zu Ihren Kunden?

Skofitsch-Haas: Das kommt natürlich auf den Hotelier an. Graz ist mit dem großen Kunstsammler Dr. Helmut Marko und seinen mit unzähligen Kunstwerken ausgestatteten Hotels sicher eine – erfreuliche – Ausnahme.

Private Sale gibt es erst seit Kurzem. Wie entwickelt sich der private Direktverkauf?

Skofitsch-Haas: Üblicherweise werden Kunstwerke ab etwa 50.000 Euro im Private Sale angeboten – an speziell dafür ausgesuchte Kunden. Der Private Sale ermöglicht eine schnelle, unkomplizierte und diskrete Abwicklung! Seit diesem Jahr haben wir im Palais Kinsky noch zusätzliche Räumlichkeiten im Erdgeschoss angemietet, um für den Private Sale eine Art Galeriesituation zu schaffen. Unser neuer Geschäftsführer – Christoph la Garde, selbst passionierter Kunstsammler – hat vor, den Bereich Private Sale in den nächsten Jahren noch auszubauen.

Elisabth Skofitsch-Haas Auktionshaus im Kinsky
Elisabth Skofitsch-Haas, Auktionshaus im Kinsky

Gibt es eine Überschneidung mit den traditionellen Galerien?

Skofitsch-Haas: „im Kinsky“ sieht sich als Mittler zwischen Kunstliebhabern und vernetzt private Sammler, öffentliche Museen und Kunsthändler. Wir sind mit unseren Auktionen der Sekundärmarkt für Kunst. Künstler, die in Galerien vertreten sind, auf Messen gezeigt werden, von Kuratoren ausgestellt werden, finden dann den Weg auf den Auktionsmarkt.

Auktionshaus im Kinsky

www.imkinsky.com